SCLERODERMA ULCERS

After my meeting with the student panel on March 22 I woke up that next morning with a tender pointer finger.  I didn’t know if I had bumped it or if having all those hands touch me the day before if my hands and fingers were just sore or if something else was going on.  Friday morning I woke with a full infection in my finger, my whole body was aching from pain and I was so sick I couldn’t keep water in my system.  I immediately went to the doctor and found out I had a scleroderma ulcer.  How I got it I have no idea but it is a long road to recovery.  My hands were so swollen and sore, my whole body was working overtime to take care of this infection and since I take an immune suppressor I had no immune system to fight with.

I got an antibiotic and stopped taking my immune suppressor immediately and that was nearly 3 weeks ago.  I didn’t know I had scleroderma and honestly I might not but with Raynaud’s as a secondary disease vs. a primary disease I run the potential of having these scleroderma ulcer issues and now I know I’m far better off to try and prevent them instead of heal them.  It takes a very long time to heal one of these ulcers and the pain that goes along with the ulcer is more than I am used to.  I deal with a certain level of pain everyday but it is manageable this was so extreme it made me very sick.

How do you prevent these types of ulcers you might ask? I’m still researching and digging into this subject. Keeping the hands as warm as possible is a key ingredient but that is a key to having Raynaud’s in general so in this case it was not enough.  There is also a need to keep a fair amount of blood flow and being able to open those vessels.  I’m in the process of using a higher dose calcium blocker to get blood rushing through the body but it doesn’t make me feel great and leaves me with some annoying headaches so my hope is I can use the higher dose while I heal and then use the lower dose which doesn’t make me feel weird the rest of the time. I used to only use it in the winter but may need a little all year long.  I’m also going back to hot yoga several times a week. I teach in a regular studio and although yoga is good for circulation I think the hot studio helps me a little more. I’m still teaching but looking at teaching in a warmer environment.  I love teaching yoga but I also know that I need to do some self-focus so I am not teaching as much as I like and going back to being a regular student.  I have also gone back to daily meditation as a way to breathe deep and take some time to reflect on my life and my situation.  It is a work in progress every single day and some days I feel better than others. Some days I have been feeling very frustrated and some days I have been feeling totally exhausted.  Those days of exhaustion I am taking care but I am still walking and doing yoga every day even if I don’t necessarily feel like it. I will write some more about techniques I’m trying and how they are working as I go through the process.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

