BACK TO ZERO DAYS

After 245 days I had a flare, therefore, I go back to zero.  However, I had a couple of signs that it was coming and it came and went quicker than normal so there are some positive aspects to this flare.  Last week I was feeling very out of sorts, my mind wasn’t quite right and I was forgetting stuff.  My fatigue level was way high and all the while I’m think that this is “normal” life stuff.  For most people might be normal life stuff, but for me it is much more and I should have known that I was on the verge of a flare. Not that I would have done much at that point but to recognize it would have been good. On Saturday my fatigue level was overwhelming and although I taught my yoga class and took a couple of yoga classes I didn’t have a lot of energy for anything else that day.  Again, I should have recognized but didn’t take notice.  Sunday I woke up and my wrists, elbows and shoulders were so sore. I really thought that I had over done my yoga work.  I do hours upon hours of yoga, why I thought that is still unclear to me but that was the biggest tell I had that I was going to go into flare.

I went to my yoga class, taught the class and as the group was moving to savassana I realized I was moving into flare.  I have a short amount of time before it becomes very obvious to people that something is wrong so I ended class and got into my car. I took deep breaths the whole way home and when I got home my body went into full flare. I had the shakes, the pain, and the illness that comes with a flare so I climbed into bed and went to sleep. During sleep my body is able to recover so I after several hours of sleep I woke feeling much better.  The thing that I need to remember about my flares is that they are fast.  They are painful but they are fast.  If I were to get the flu or a cold I could be down for couple days or even several days but with the flares I’m down for several hours.  My body was not able to do anything Sunday except for rest and although I was able to eat and drink that was all I had. However, the next morning I woke up feeling great.  I was able to do a gentle walk and although I’m still dealing with fatigue my body feels much better.

The thing I learn with each flare is that I have signs if I would just listen and my flares come on fast but leave quickly.  My flares knock me down but then I’m able to get right back up and do what I need to do.  The other thing is that my flare was on a Sunday so it doesn’t really interrupt my life except for that important time with my husband. He is very understanding and realizes that this too will pass and we will have next weekend to enjoy each other.  We had 35 weekends to spend together flare-up free and I’m hoping that this day starts my journey to another 35 weekends or even longer.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

