LISTENING TO MY BODY

My body was giving me all kinds of signs to slow down and rest, but dealing with life stuff was making it hard to take the time needed to actually listen and do something.  This past weekend I didn’t flare but my body was very stiff and my hands were so sore and swollen that when my husband asked if we could go golfing on Saturday, I literally couldn’t hold my golf club.  I walked beside him in the sunshine and fresh air stretching out my sore hips and knees but a golf course on Saturday doesn’t lead to power walking, more a stroll around the course hitting the ball and waiting for the team up ahead.  I actually enjoy walking golf courses more than I enjoy playing golf courses.  If only early mornings they would allow people to walk them for exercise, that would be great.

The following day we decided to go hiking which is a great way to be outside and together and I didn’t need my hands at all.  Some hikes require walking poles but this one was just a leisurely walk in the woods and very relaxing.  After a weekend of just taking it easy, no moving boxes or stressing about what happens next my body was able to find that calm zone again.  I do feel that there might be a flare right around the corner so this is where I really have to listen, take notice and try to be as kind to myself as possible.

I’m teaching a lot of yoga classes the next few months but that doesn’t mean I have to do all the classes and my plan is to just use verbal cues for half the classes each week and then practice the other half.  I’m in a studio where it is preferred that we do the poses with our students, but each studio, each principal, each instructor is very different and some teacher trainings prefer to not have their instructors practice.  Although some students feel it puts the instructor at a power level and there is no power struggles in yoga, at least not for me.

I will explain to the practitioners before each class if I’m not practicing and why as to make sure that there are no triggers for anyone. Yoga is very personal and people come to their mats and our studio for all kinds of reasons.  As an instructor my soul purpose is to guide them and allow them a place to explore their own space.  I’m brought to my mat each day for different reasons as well and every time I climb on my mat I am deciding if I’m restoring, powering or finding a balance between the two. My favorite class that I’m teaching right now is restorative yoga and although many people come to their mats to sweat, work and release stress, sometimes people need to be reminded that rest and restoring is very important too.  I’m finding that my class is growing in numbers since the word is out that people should slow down and the let body heal between their more intense sessions.

I’m in rest mode and trying to keep a flare out of my way but also know that if I do have a flare I can come out of them quickly as well.  Life is about balance and even when you think you have found it, it is time to look again.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

