FIRST YOGA CLASS

I’m so happy to finally announce that after a year of doing my yoga teacher training I taught my first official class on Sunday. I was excited, nervous, and full of inside jitters but I did it and felt amazing after it was over.  I found my voice and taught what I know and ended up putting together a good sequence.

With more practice and experience I’m on my way to becoming a great yoga instructor and honestly I truly love it.  I find teaching so fulfilling but I also find being a student of yoga so fulfilling as well so in my case I have the best of both worlds. I do yoga every day many days a week in classes, now I’m starting to teach and I also have my home practice.  It is all good, very stimulating, strengthen building and spirit filling. I’m on my path, my journey, and my yoga adventure.

You can see from my weekly stats that I was really focused on yoga and not so much getting my steps in. I’m fairly sure that has time goes on, I get more opportunities to teach that the need for cardio, and weight training will take back seats to finding that great yoga sequence that gets the body moving with meaning and guiding my students.  I’m ok with the slow down and the change as well as the ramping up of my yoga practice. It really truly takes hours being on the mat to create sequences that are challenging, fun and fulfilling as well as hours to learn the sequence once it has been created.  Due to the fact that I’m brand new teaching I didn’t venture too far off “script” but I knew that sequence inside and out so it didn’t feel like a script in the studio.

My goal is to become so confident in my teaching that I can walk into a yoga studio and ask the students what they want to work on since I like it when instructors do that in the classes I attend. I will get there and now that I have started all I have is time on my side.

On to the weekly stats

Total – 73,260

Daily – 10,466

Miles – 29.03

Floors – 184

Keep moving in any way that feels right for you, for that day, for your body.

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “FIRST YOGA CLASS

  1. Turquoise Compass November 4, 2015 at 5:19 pm Reply

    Congrats! I’ve been teaching a month now!

    • mevsmctd November 4, 2015 at 7:28 pm Reply

      Congrats to you as well. I’m hoping in a month or 2 my insides will stop jittering and I might be able to teach on the fly without a script. Right now I’m putting in about 5-8 hours preparing for a class to be sure I know where I’m going, how it feels and does it land within 60 minutes. I’m so hoping that gets easier!!

      • Turquoise Compass November 4, 2015 at 10:41 pm

        It will get easier with time! I’m noticing a difference already! I did the same as you with my first class!

Leave a Reply

