FASCINATING EXPERIENCE

There are many days I go out for a walk at lunch time and use my lunch break as a way to reduce some of the day’s stress or I go to the gym and power through a class of some sort.  However, I very rarely have a fascinating experience in 60 minutes time while getting away from the office until today.  Today I decided to treat myself to an hour at the Portland Science Center to see the Body World show.  With the study of anatomy for my yoga training, my own obsession with bodies, health and how things work, along with my need to understand why I have MCTD and how to work with it, this exhibit was totally geared toward the novice health geek as well as the medical field or anyone who is just interested in how we work.

There is controversy surrounding this exhibit and I do not take lightly what I saw but I still cannot actually put into words how I felt being in there and how I feel after what I saw.  It makes me so thankful to those that donated their bodies for science and also thankful that Portland decided to show this exhibit.  I learned a lot and got to see up close what is happening with the stuff we are discussing in my anatomy class.  I don’t think I need to see it again but the memories are with me and over the course of the next several days I will still need time to process.

Tonight I have a yoga class that can take me inside my own body and process what I saw today along with what my own body is doing and draw some correlations.  I don’t know if I will find the words to talk about this with anyone who hasn’t seen it and will have to decide if I want to engage in conversation with someone who has. I went by myself so the experience is mine to do with it as I see fit.  Maybe to keep processing, exploring my own body and teetering on my own edges is the best thing about this experience.  I have so many questions about my body and why it will or won’t do certain things, this exhibit gave me some answers and left me with many more questions.  Exploration is key on and off the mat when it comes to our bodies and minds but everything is really connected from the baby toe to the brain and it is amazing.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

