DE-STRESSING DOES WONDERS

It is no surprise to anyone that stress is a negative health trigger and with MCTD it can take very little stress to send us into flare. 11 years ago when I was first diagnosed my Rheumy had mentioned that the less stress I have in my life the better I will. For many years I lived by those words and although we cannot reduce all stress in life there are ways to keep it low. I lived a moderately stressed life for many years and felt like I was in a good place in my life. I had flares like anyone with MCTD and sometimes I knew exactly why they happened and other times I really couldn’t pinpoint the cause. A couple of years ago I took a new job at my company knowing that I was entering a new realm in life. Within the first year of taking this job my blood pressure which had always been normal had gone into dangerously high, my sleep become sporadic and restless, my eating become sporadic with severe cravings, my doctor diagnosed me as menopausal with adrenal fatigue.

My second year at this job was more the same, I was able to get my menopausal symptoms under control which helped my sleep patterns and allowed me to feel more rested in the mornings. My blood pressure fluctuates between normal and high quite often. I spent 6 months doing nothing but walking and yoga to try and get my adrenal fatigue back to normal and just continued to live with the severe cravings, weird eating habits, and sporadic meals. However, all of this was painting a much bigger picture in my life that yes I could live like this but should I? Do I really want to endure this type of lifestyle? Is this really the best thing for me, my health and my family? Am I happy at this point in my life? Am I living the life I want and do I still feel charmed? I have been asking myself these questions for several months now and each time I keep coming back to the same thing.

My intention was to work really hard for a shorter amount of time and then do something that I really want in the next stage of my life. However, after only 2 years I realize that I don’t have another 3-5 years of energy to keep going this way. Now some might say that I haven’t had a flare in 410 days so the stress doesn’t seem to be making me flare or setting my MCTD and yes that is a true statement but I also don’t believe I’m as healthy as I could be. Some might say how much healthier can I get and I believe a lot healthier. I believe my mind is not nearly as healthy as it could be, my body could be even stronger with a little less stress and my soul could be happier as well. I enjoy my life and my family and for the most part I do still feel charmed but things have taken a turn for me in the last couple of years which is making me re-examine where I’m going.

I spend hours a week doing yoga and yet my golf pro believes I’m one of his most stressed and tense clients. I work out and lift heavy and yet my trainer believes I could be stronger. I love my family and my husband but yet they think I have taken on too much and don’t want to overwhelm me. I also believe I have taken on too much and need a little less overwhelm in my life. How do I get back to the place I was and how do I de-stress a much stressed life?

My answer is to make changes. This is not easy and not for everyone but one of the lifestyle changes that the Paleo community believes in is to get to a place where you are living and loving life. Doing what makes you happy and healthy. Working towards a moderately stress free life and enjoying that stress free life. I am not naive enough to believe I will be stress free but I do think there is plenty of room to decrease stress and I’m find my avenues. I have agonized over how to make this work and my day finally came. Once I started the process I immediately started to feel better. I slept so good for the first time in a really long time and honestly I thought I was sleeping well before. There was a time in my life when I would go to bed, wake up before my alarm and be ready to start the day. That has not happened to me a in a long time. Really I would go to bed, wake up before my alarm but not feel that complete restfulness. I have a golf lesson this weekend I’m hoping my golf pro says to me that he notices that I have de-stressed and released some tension and perhaps my golf game can really take off. In the grand scheme of life golf is not important but it is an indicator of what my body and mind are doing and perhaps it will show me real markers like a constant normal blood pressure, good eating, low cravings, and wonderful sleep.

2 thoughts on “DE-STRESSING DOES WONDERS

  1. jodiebodie September 26, 2014 at 8:11 am Reply

    Glad that the de-stressing has started and I am wondering how you are going with it a couple of months down the track since you first wrote this. I also have MCTD and hypoadrenalism is part of my problem too. I like your term “adrenal fatigue” which is probably much easier for a layperson to grasp.
    What happens though when the things we want to do and enjoy still place too much stress on the body? Then I get stressed from the frustration! Such a difficult balance and it is reassuring to read that it is not “just me” that deals with these issues.
    I know no one else with MCTD and I appreciate your sharing of your issues and struggles. It helps me to get a better understanding of the symptoms and problems that typically present as part of MCTD. I have no other benchmark to compare.
    Thanks again and I hope you are living the stress free life we all strive towards.
    Jodie

    • mevsmctd September 30, 2014 at 2:11 pm Reply

      Jodie
      I have made some changes in my life but since my flare my life seems very stressful. I think battling the fatigue just makes everything seem way more overwhelming than it normally would be. I am trying for find that peace again through yoga but it is more difficult than I imagined. I haven’t had a flare in so long that finding that base line and find life less stressful is more difficult this time around. I’m hoping as the weeks approach I will find some stress-less days to recoup and recover and maybe life won’t feel so overwhelming. I do appreciate you asking your questions and reading my blog. It is a journey that we are all on and our paths cross and over lap so sharing your own story is helpful for me too.

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

