FIRST DAY OF SUMMER

 Yesterday was the first day of summer and although many people have experienced summer type temperatures for a while now we cannot say the same in Maine. When summer arrives on the calendar it does not always mean summer has arrived for us to enjoy it yet. We have had complete washout June’s, and mid 50’s in June but this year we are experiencing some very pleasant weather and some much needed sunshine. The summer solstice brought a long day of sunlight as well as a warm enjoyable summer day in all.

Since it was bright and warm first thing I was able to get up early and get first fresh air. Not a lot of people were out enjoying this incredibly beautiful day but I am really one of the earlier ones. I got back to the house and let my husband know I was headed out for a couple of hours of yoga. This is at the studio near my house where I’m practicing vinyassa flow and meeting the people right here in my community. He asked if I was going to ride my bike to yoga which got me thinking that I do need to figure out how to get to yoga on my bike with my mat and if need be change from biking clothes to yoga clothes or try to incorporate the both somehow. However, I don’t really want to practice yoga in my big butt padded biking shorts.

When I arrived at yoga the studio was full and I pleasantly surprised since this was my first Saturday practice at my new studio. Our instructor was explaining the summer solstice is a new beginning and that the Buddhists celebrate this new beginning by doing 108 sun salutations in appreciation. We decided as a group we did not want to take on this endeavor but we were on board with the philosophy of Be Here. Being in the here without regard to yesterday or tomorrow is part of the practice and on the longest day of the year with the warm weather, the energy in the room, and our 5 sun salutations we celebrated the first day of summer. I am looking forward to many more weeks of warm weather and new experiences.  

2 thoughts on “FIRST DAY OF SUMMER

  1. Emily June 23, 2014 at 1:05 pm Reply

    Hi, I have been reading your blog a lot over the last few months. I was just diagnosed with Undifferentiated Connective Tissue Disease in April, but am seeking a new rheumie for follow up and more information. The info I find online can be somewhat overwhelming, but I like that you have taken charge of your health – good for you!! I’m trying to do the same thing, and found vinyasa yoga is amazing after 2 months of PT that was just making things worse. So far, I’ve built up to an hour long stretching/yoga routine everyday and am slowly adding biking and strengthening as well. Some days that’s all I can do, but it must be done and I can tell the difference the next day. Thank you for sharing these stories!! It’s really helped motivate me in the right direction. 🙂

    • mevsmctd June 23, 2014 at 4:54 pm Reply

      Hello Emily
      Thank you for taking time to read my blog and write to me. You are smart to build up and on the days you feel great capitalize on it and the days you don’t just try walking. You might find that your body feels great for several days and then you have a day where you don’t feel great which is ok too. Your body is fragile and trying to figure things out so be patient, push when you can and back off when you need to. Depending on your UDCT symptoms you might find vinyassa flow can be hard on the wrists, elbows and shoulders so be kind and take it slow. Once you start to build up you will be able to push more but don’t rush it. It sounds like you are on the right track and you want to stay on that track. Good luck on your journey

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

