303 DAYS FLARE-UP FREE

Today is the beginning of a new month and a spring month at that. As of today I am at 303 days without a flare and this is truly the longest I have ever gone. I never thought I would get to 300 days but here I am and trying to finish out the year flare-up free if at all possible. My body has been so good to me for 303 days other than the parasite a few weeks ago but everyone has their down moment. I have been training hard for my bike ride coming up in 39 days and I just hope I get through this ride successfully.

I figured on day 300 of being flare-up free I would try and decrease my prednisone again. I try to decrease every once in a while and I was feeling so good that I didn’t dare try but now I feel like I really need to try just to see if my body can handle the change. If I can remain flare-up free and decrease a medication that is truly moving in the right direction. I have been being careful with my food other than the other day when I did just indulge in carbs galore and I think my body was really wanting and maybe needing them but now I’m back into training gear and watching closely my diet and sleep.

Once the ride is behind me I can focus on my yoga practice. This is going to be a bitter sweet challenge for me because after 8 years of a regular Bikram practice I am turning to a regular vinyasa practice for a year. I need a break from Bikram and although I love the heat I don’t want the commitment of 90 minutes every time with a much needed shower every single session. With a regular vinyasa flow I can jump into a 60 minute or 90 minute class and continue on with my day. I have found a studio near my home which will allow me to ride my bike to class each day and they offer enough classes during the week to give me a regular 5 day a week practice which is really what I’m lacking in my Bikram practice. For many years I had been going to Bikram several times a week and for a year almost every day but for the last 8 months my Bikram sessions have gone to twice a week and even that has been hard to keep on a regular basis. It is time to incorporate yoga back into my life on a daily or at least regular basis and I can commit to a vinyasa class easier than a Bikram class right now.

I already miss my Bikram ladies and I haven’t even left yet but I know that our paths will cross elsewhere and I know that my Bikram practice isn’t over completely just for a year while I try new things like cycling and golf. I’m looking forward to spring really finding its way to Maine so we can go golfing. Right now we are scheduled to take my mom golfing for Mother’s Day but there is no guarantee that the weather in Maine will be nice that early in the season. I will do anything for my mother however so even playing in the mud sounds fun.

Leave a Reply

