A GIFT FROM VACATION

Before I start this blog post I must say no one should feel bad for me as I don’t feel bad for myself and the reason I am writing this post is more to discuss how when we think we are doing everything right, things can still go wrong.

A couple of weeks ago my husband and I went on a vacation to Mexico and had a fabulous time. The beach was perfect, the food was good, the weather was incredible and my stress had almost vanished. Being away for a week and not really knowing what time it is other than when our bellies growled and it was time to eat is so good for the soul. I didn’t exercise that week but between golfing and walking I had logged over 140k steps on my fitbit. I don’t usually log that many when I’m at home making a conscience effort to exercise. I was feeling so good and upbeat about life and learning to play golf with my husband, which is what we want as we enter our next phase of life together. Things were incredible and even coming home seemed relatively easy.

After we had been home for 5 days and I will say those 5 days I was exhausted, I didn’t know why and just figure I needed a vacation from my vacation. I did work out as usual as soon as I got home and started weight training again and started my normal spin routine and Insanity routine but felt like my body was function fairly well. On that 5th day I was in my Insanity Class when my body suddenly didn’t feel ok and I truly mean suddenly. I can usually tell if something is off and other than the fatigued I had no indication. Some might say the fatigue should have been my clue but I live with a level of fatigue off and on in my daily life so it honestly was not an indicator for me this time. After my Insanity Class I was feeling the most incredible pain I have felt in my life all in my abdominal area and back area. I made it home to bed and there I stayed until Monday morning when I made it into the doctor. It seems as though I brought back some sort of bacteria with me from Mexico that does not make contagious to anyone but it certainly has put me in a new place.

I have finally gotten liquids into this body and I’m up and around but walking even short distances in the house is exhausting. I know my body is running on zero energy and therefore I’m struggling just to function. Every day I wake up thinking today is the day the pain will subside and I will get back to my base line. My base line is changing every day that I’m ill because I can feel my body getting weaker and weaker. Exercise is not an option but I am trying to walk a little bit more every day and eat a little bit more every day. I have noticed my strength has dropped a lot in a very short amount of time and I will be starting at the beginning once again when I get started with exercise and weight training. The good thing is that I have already spoken to my trainer and once I’m able to walk a fair distance without too much struggle we can start a beginners weight training workout until I build my strength back up. He is certain that once we get started it will come back quickly but it is amazing how quickly it has left.

I am not afraid of travel in the future and see this as an isolated situation since it has not happened prior to now and may never happen again. I get such joy from traveling with my husband and adventures we experience together that this even as annoying and painful is a mere blip in regards to the happiness and ease I feel when I’m with him traveling.

Leave a Reply

