MAKING IT OUTSIDE

It is almost mid-April and in Maine it can go either way, we can either have snow still or more snow coming, but we can also have warm temps that peak the spring fever. Today is a spring fever day. It is nearly 70 degrees here today and the sun is bright and warm. I must admit that I went to my Insanity Class at lunch time which is unfortunately in the gym and took one look at my instructor and asked if in the coming weeks we could move this class outside. I cannot bring myself to be inside the gym on warm summer days and seeing how we are cooped up for 9 months in the year for a few months I want as much time outside.

My personal training session will be outside boxing in the park, running sprints, playing on the local playground and as far as Insanity, well we haven’t figured that out yet but he is giving it some thought. We use the music to keep us on track and the music is the hardest part to bring in the outdoor environment for a large class that is.

I am getting my bike as I have to start my training rides for the Tour de Cure and the more I ride outside and get out of indoor spinning classes will be better. I like to envision myself riding my bike to my training session during the day and riding my bike again at night to my yoga practice. My husband thinks that I just cram too much into every single day but these are things I really enjoy. At the very least I love walking outside as much as possible all summer long but with all my other activities I have to fit them in somewhere in the day and combining as many as possible will probably be key.

My husband and I just took up golf and did lessons inside all winter along. We are now ready to hit the course, the fresh air and see if our lessons have paid off. Where does golf fit in? Anywhere my husband wants it to. I am so committed to having a hobby we do together that anytime he says he wants to golf I’m there with clubs and sunscreen ready to go. Having a hobby we both enjoy has been lacking for us. I took up kayaking so I could enjoy the outside while he fishes but that is a certain meditation for him and don’t really enjoy long talks when you are meditating. He took up yoga but didn’t really like it all much so it was more of a chore than a hobby. However, he has been talking to some golfers who use yoga as a way to stay flexible and be better golfers. Is it possible I might get a 2 for1 one out of this hobby deal??? More than anything I’m looking forward to spending the summer with my husband and sharing some real quality time with him.

Leave a Reply

