WHAT HAPPENS NEXT

Happy Holidays to all.  Now that Christmas is over and New Year’s is just around the corner my question is what happens next? What does my 2014 look like, what new challenges will I try and what goals will I set? The end of this year has been so great for me and I have found a new strength and a new drive.  I wasn’t feeling great at the beginning and middle but the last several months have been much better.  Working with a trainer again has given me great strength and doing my Insanity classes has increased my endurance and stamina and as well as running again has shown me that even at age 41 I’m very capable of doing what I want as long as I take care of myself.

I am not one to make New Year’s resolutions but there are certain things that I want to recommit to this year. I’m having deja vu which is probably because I said that very thing last year and here I am another year in saying the same thing.  This is probably typical of most people as we try to better ourselves or see things in ourselves we would like to change we use the New Year as a place to do it.  In the past I have set goals not resolutions and last year I used the word resolution which was “commit” I was very committed this year to family, work, health and fitness.  I really want to focus my attention to my diet, nutrition and truly putting sugar in my past.  One thing about myself is that I have a serious sweet tooth and yes I indulge it regularly but after several days of doing this, like right now, I feel terrible.  Nothing else has changed just the sugar consumption but I know if I hadn’t indulged as much I wouldn’t feel so exhausted, bloated, sluggish, irritable and did I mention exhausted.  I do realize that the holidays bring on a level of exhaustion and fatigue with or without indulging in certain foods but my fatigue is just compounded.

I will say again, I want to recommit to a cleaner, more natural diet and eliminate sugar from my diet. This is an ongoing goal that I have to fall down, pick myself up and keep trying.  I have tried many times and honestly for about a year after my MCTD diagnosis I was sugar free but I was eating gluten back then so I didn’t feel so deprived and eating things with no sugar wasn’t easy but it felt doable.  Now I have reached a place in my life where I think I can either be gluten free or sugar free but not both and I need to change that mindset.  I believe my body wants to be both; I just need my brain on board. I have been experimenting in the kitchen way more this year than any other time in life and I’ve created some really incredible meals, desserts, salads and smoothies so I just need to expand my knowledge and try to remove sugar or sweeteners from those recipes.  I was listening to a podcast that discussed Xylitol and stevia and how these two “natural” sweeteners don’t spike the blood sugar levels or cause the liver to adjust how it functions.  I’m still doing research on this so I clearly understand the difference between these two sweeteners and other sweeteners so if anyone has information please let me know.

3 thoughts on “WHAT HAPPENS NEXT

  1. Marla December 28, 2013 at 10:08 pm Reply

    Try coconut sugar. It has a glycolic index of 35, so it doesn’t raise your blood sugar levels. Coconut sugar does not effect me in a bad way. When I eat sugar or even honey, I feel it within hours in my body. I start to hurt.

    • mevsmctd December 29, 2013 at 4:27 pm Reply

      Marla
      It is interesting that you bring this up as I heard about coconut sugar on a podcast as well and they were also saying it was low on the glycemic index but the best way to tell is to try it and see how it makes the body react. I will have to put this in the line up to be tested and see how I do with some of these sweeteners. Right now I currently only use maple syrup as my sweetener at home, however, with the holidays and eating everyone’s treats I have put my sweet tooth into overdrive.

      Thank you for writing to me with your suggestion. I’ll keep you posted on my results and keep on living healthy.

      Nicole

  2. Marla December 28, 2013 at 10:09 pm Reply

    I ment glycemic, not glycolic. My kindle changed it when I typed it.

Leave a Reply

