KEEP RUNNING

 After completing my first week of running my mind is feeling many things but my body is feeling nothing but pleasure. The idea behind the couch to 5k is to run 3 days a week with a rest day in between. I picked 3 days to lace up my running shoes and complete my 30 minute sessions. Day one, I felt very energized and my body felt good so I was excited about it. My 30 minute session is 2 minutes of running with 3 minutes of walking. I did another 30 minute session that was 60 seconds of running and 90 seconds of walking. After 60 minutes I was feeling very accomplished. Day 2 of running, I woke up and the little voice in my head was pretty loud reminding me I could just work out at lunch time and don’t worry about. I put that voice in the back of my head and talked myself into just going for a walk. Once I was up and around my body was feeling good so I was able to do day 2 of my couch to 5k. After my 60 minutes I was feeling good and the voices were gone. Day 3 was a run before Bikram class so after I accomplished 60 minutes of couch to 5k I did 90 minutes of Bikram and while lying in the hot, humid studio of Bikram I took a real moment to thank this body. No matter how loud the voice gets in my head I know my body can do it.

The brain will always give up before the body and I have to remind myself of that every time the voice gets a little to loud. My hips, knees, and ankles are strong and I don’t ever think my cardiovascular system cannot handle something so really there is nothing standing in my way. This week I will accomplish week 2 of couch to 5k and although I’m not sure how the running schedule looks yet I’m also not going to worry about it. I know the running will increase while the walking will decrease but they also make this program suitable for the masses, therefore, I can do it. I just have to keep running and enjoy each run I am able to accomplish. 

Leave a Reply

