TIME TO RUN

For those of you that don’t know, I’m a fair weather walker.  Once the weather changes I take myself back into the gym or to my basement and get out of the cold.  This body does not do well in the cold and even if I’m layering, wearing gloves and what would seem like wearing warm clothes to others is just not enough for me.  If the temperature is warm then I’m warm, but if the temperature is cold, well unfortunately then I’m cold.  I don’t like being cold and try to make sure my body runs warm.  If I’m too cold my Raynaud’s becomes severe and painful and I can put myself into flare-up if I’m too cold, so I try like hell to not get to that point. This fair weather walker has taken herself inside and now I’m doing all my workouts in the indoor arenas and will keep the outside for apple picking during the afternoon when it warmer.

I have been thinking more and more about running again now that I’m starting to feel stronger and I’m able to do more. My fatigue is not nearly as bad as it has been the last several months and my weight training is feeling really good so I thought a winter time sport of running might be fun.  I ran a few years ago and did several 5K and only one 10K but it was fun and the running community is quite friendly.  Training for 5K races is easy to do indoors and then if I pick spring and summer races I’ll be ready.  Therefore, I took myself to the gym and got on the treadmill and started running as though it would be “just like riding a bike” and my body would remember how to run.  I was so wrong. I am literally starting at the beginning of this process so I went to the experts at couch to 5K or the free version of C25K.com.  There are podcasts that can instruct your running routines or an app that you can download so you get the cues but can play your own music.

Today was my first day of C25K and for my first session I used the podcast version where there is a lot more talking. I did a 5 minute warm up, running 2 minutes, walking 3 minutes, cool down for 5 minutes and done in 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes I felt really good so I decided to see how different the app was so I started up the app and it has a ring alert with very few words, but still starts with a 5 minute warm up, running 1 minute, walking 2 minutes, cool down for 5 minutes and again over in 30 minutes.  The app was a little harder but it was also my 2nd 30 minute workout.  After 60 minutes of a mixture of walking and running it was very fun and it made the time go by fast.  They suggest doing the sessions 3 days a week so going forward I’ll probably use a mixture of podcasts and the app for 30 minutes only.  I like the podcast because the speaker gives tips and just checks in periodically.  The ring alert on the app is fine but not quite as motivating except I can listen to my own music which can be motivating.

I have 2 more sessions this week and looking forward to them but they suggest a day in between with rest so I will take that seriously and when I’m not running I’ll be working out with my weights.

6 thoughts on “TIME TO RUN

  1. Jennifer Hawley October 22, 2013 at 1:43 pm Reply

    I started T25 a couple weeks ago and it is alot of fun (well as much fun as a person can have indoors by yourself) Its a 5 day a week 25 minute workout and I am sweating by the time I am done. I love the C25K I need to get back to training for the spring…maybe once I am bored with this program I will take it up again. You have to mix it up from time to time. Good luck with the program!!!

    • mevsmctd October 22, 2013 at 5:39 pm Reply

      Jennifer I had to look up T25 to see what it was, way impressive. Do you enjoy it? Are your joints able to stick with the workout? I have a post I want to write soon on this subject. I would like to follow your progress if you would keep me updated on how your body reacts, what kind of progress you make and how you feel over all doing it. Nicole

      ________________________________

  2. newtopaleo October 23, 2013 at 5:05 am Reply

    Running would suppress your thyroid further. You can tell by the reduction in heart rate at rest. Weights are better. Seems like you need some thyroid to warm up your fingers. If your TSH is above 1 and co2 below 28 would be a clue.

    • mevsmctd October 23, 2013 at 1:07 pm Reply

      Fortunately, my thyroid is working great. The Raynaud’s is a symptom of my MCTD and not my menopause. I do worry about running on my joints but the feeling I get when I’m running regularly is so wonderful, or at least it use to be. I’m easing back in and will see where this adventure leads me. Nicole

      ________________________________

  3. Jenny October 29, 2013 at 7:19 pm Reply

    I will keep you posted- so far it is perfect, a good sweat and I definitly seem to be getting stonger. I do not see any joint damage from the disease yet. Actually I am sometimes suprised how much pain a joint can cause and the next day it is perfectly healthy. I could easily wake up every day and say my joints hurt, I am fatigued and go back to bed. We have to sometimes push, that is everyone with and without the disease. I do have a fear right now and I think you can understand as well as anyone. I have worked for my company for 9 years and was laid off. This is my last week. I am scared to death that being home with the sickness is going to make me give in to my fatigue…any tips on how to mentally stay motivated.

    • mevsmctd October 29, 2013 at 7:58 pm Reply

      Jennifer
      You are doing so great and not giving in when you would really want to so I’m sure you will get through this tough time in your life as well. Being laid off is mentally going to take a toll on you so your fatigue might feel overwhelming some days. Don’t get down, but don’t give in and just stay your health course until you are back to work again. On days you feel the most fatigue use those days to walk and once you get going you might find yourself doing more. I know you can get through this. You might find that this is a good time to try something new, whatever that looks like for you and just try something. Anytime you can trick yourself into being “busy” you will find you don’t have time for fatigue. However, if you really are feeling fatigue you should slow down. I’m so anxious to see how the next few weeks and months look for you. I hope your joints keep strong and you continue to feel strong. You are doing great work.

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

