100 DAYS FLARE-UP FREE

Today is 100 days of being flare-up free and although my long term goal is to get to 200 days this certainly feels good.  Sometimes flares sneak up on me and I’m not sure why or what happened and other times I’m able to go long periods of time without having to deal with a flare up.  I’m in the mode of no flares and when I go these long periods of time I start to feel very strong and with that comes a sense of accomplishment.  I have decreased my Bikram practice to only 2-3 times per week and spending the rest of the time strength training and lots of walking.  The heat was starting to cause me some trouble when I was doing it 5 days a week or more so I cut way back and have really been able to see the change.  I miss it a lot though. I miss the people, I miss the practice, and with the change in seasons I miss the heat.  The problem was that when I was going more often my body was becoming fatigued and I was starting to feel flare like symptoms in the studio but fortunately they weren’t turning into true flares.  As soon as I would leave the heat the symptoms would end.  Also, after a Bikram practice was exhausted for the rest of the day and it was making it difficult to get anything else accomplished. Now, I feel like I have more energy during the day to keep me going.

I have also moved my exercise to my basement, so I’m not leaving the house early.  This is also allowing me to sleep in longer than I normally was and still able to get a good workout for at least an hour sometimes 90 minutes but doing it all in the comfort of my basement. I have been regularly lifting weights now for 3 weeks and although that doesn’t sound like a long time I can already feel my strength returning.  I know I was in a hormonal funk and getting some balance back has really helped put other things back in balance also.  I like having more energy, I love feeling stronger, and I really enjoy the times I do get at the Bikram studio even if I wish it were more. As my strength increases and my body continues to balance out I might be able to add more Bikram but I am on a good role right now and don’t want to jeopardize that.

The longest period of time I have gone without a flare has been 197 days, I’m hoping to reach 200 days this time around and stay on a healthy path to more and more flare-up free days.

Leave a Reply

