HELP THESE HANDS

This post is going to ring true for many of the readers with MCTD, since one of our symptoms is swollen hands I deal with this regularly.  However, in the last few months my hands have really swelled up pretty big.  It is hard to explain why they look like this and honestly the size of them can be embarrassing but at the same time everything I try the swelling is still there so how can I really be embarrassed by this?  I was talking to my husband about how weird my hands looked and although he sees them all the time he also thinks they are looking a little big but he mentioned that most people have some swelling from time to time.  This conversation lead to the conversation of weight gain and swelling and when did they go hand in hand.

For me they are going hand in hand right now.  I have gained weight this past year and yes the swelling has been more challenging and made my hands pretty sore as well the last couple of months.  I am working hard on trying to figure out how to lose this weight but until my body gets more balanced it just wants to hold on to this weight. From what I have read and from what I have talked to my doctor about, my body is basically holding on to fat to protect my organs until the “stress” becomes more manageable.  Now I realize that stress is evil but I have stress when I’m not even doing anything.  This is part of being out of balance hormonally so now that I’m working on find this balance the next thing I hope to be able to really see results with is the loss of some of this weight.

I know I have to sleep better but when my body constantly feels like it is running from lions how will it settle down enough to sleep?  Again, when I become balanced again my hope is that the sleeping will fall back into place, the stress will settle, and the weight will come off, resulting in some less swollen and sore hands.  I have been drinking my dandelion tea daily and although it worked well in the beginning like anything the more I do it the more my body gets use to it and the benefits start to wane. In an effort to settle the stress at night I have taken up walking.  I really wanted the gentle yoga to work but it wasn’t enough to settle the body and now I’m trying walking.  I keep trying things until something finally works.  This is how I have approached the last 10 years of my life but this time I’m finding a lot more challenges or brick walls to maneuver through.  I’m certainly not giving up but I would like something to finally kick in and start working.

5 thoughts on “HELP THESE HANDS

  1. newtopaleo October 3, 2013 at 5:41 pm Reply

    Hi. Stumbled across this blog searching for something else. Do you have any posts with your labs. Please point me to them if you have. Have you read any Ray Peats stuff? Hows your thyroid function doing. Have you checked your estrogen, progesterone levels? Have you heard about low dose naltrexone for autoimmune arthritis?

  2. newtopaleo October 3, 2013 at 5:45 pm Reply

    http://raypeat.com/articles/articles/sugar-issues.shtml

    http://raypeat.com/articles/articles/glucose-sucrose-diabetes.shtml

    Low carb can potentially get you into trouble . I should know. You need to rethink your knowledge on sugar especially fructose.
    Look up the glycemic index of fructose to get a clue.

    http://www.functionalps.com/blog/2011/09/12/master-list-ray-peat-phd-interviews/

    • mevsmctd October 3, 2013 at 7:06 pm Reply

      Thank you for taking the time to read to my blog. I have had my labs done but I do not post my results in my writings. I have not read Ray Peats but I will look into it.

      Nicole

      • newtopaleo October 3, 2013 at 7:14 pm

        No problem. If you want me take a look at your labs give your email or something. We can go over the labs and see what you have missed so far.

  3. newtopaleo October 3, 2013 at 7:20 pm Reply

    http://www.myradiary.com/570/low-dose-naltrexone-ldn-a-better-drug-for-rheumatoid-arthritis

    This could help. At such low doses the side effects would be negligible.

Leave a Reply

