TAKING TIME OFF

I took a little time off from everything and just hunkered down into rest mode. I needed a good week of taking care of myself and spending time with my husband and family. I had taken a break from Bikram after my flare a couple of weeks ago and last Saturday decided to try it again. I got through the warm up and had to leave because I felt the flare coming on and didn’t want a full blown flare to take over. As soon as I stepped outside into the fresh air my body stopped hurting and I was able to complete the day without a flare but I did move slowly. We headed to camp that same day where we just did nothing but kayak, walk, hike, and relax. This is our annual family trip up to camp and this year was so needed for mind, body and soul. There were wonderful talks on the dock, a walk in the woods, beautiful views and scenery and tons of eating and drinking.
I tried a little wine the first night but felt it in my body the next day and since other types of alcohol can be trigger for me I was not willing to tempt it so no more red wine for me for a while. I think my body was already in a weak state as red wine doesn’t normally set off a trigger for me but it did this time and I was trying to recover from life this week.
Fast forward to yesterday when I stepped back into the Bikram studio after 2 weeks and I felt it. I didn’t flare or have a verge of flare but it was incredibly hard. I felt a little dizzy and very tired. I’m clearly struggling in my practice right now and I don’t want to give up on it but I do want to cut back and see if I can find my rhythm again. I have chosen 3 days to go to Bikram in a week so cutting back from 5 days to 3 days should help me work through this. Some people find going more helps work through tough practices but for me I think it might be a little too taxing right now for this body and maybe a little less yoga might help which means I need to step up my walking. This past week I did so much walking and realized that I can walk and walk forever if I had the time.
I asked my husband if I could start a walk and just keep walking until my legs give out and cannot take one more step and would he come pick me up. He thinks I’m crazy but of course he will oblige my crazy request and do it so now I just have to plan my long walk of life. However, in the midst of all my walking I didn’t find time for weight training but we were hauling kayaks, and large water jugs and coolers around so I was doing some heavy lifting but not enough weight training. I keep saying I’m going to make a commitment to my weight training but I don’t really like it when I’m doing it but I do like the way I feel after I’m done. I hesitate to announce once again that I’m taking weight training seriously but the truth is that I need it more than ever.

7 thoughts on “TAKING TIME OFF

  1. Jennifer Hawley August 26, 2013 at 4:46 pm Reply

    I stated a natural supplement for adrenal fatigue and it is wonderful Gaia Adrenal Fatigue….granted not two of us, with this blasted disease, have the same symptoms but it helps me might be worth a shot. Take care and if you need to rest, rest peacefully.

    • mevsmctd August 26, 2013 at 10:32 pm Reply

      Jennifer Thank you for the suggestion, I will explore this supplement and see what I can find out. I would try just about anything at this point.

      Nicole

      ________________________________

  2. Jessica September 4, 2013 at 2:42 am Reply

    Did this supplement work? I have MCTD too and the fatigue is killing me.

    • mevsmctd September 4, 2013 at 12:43 pm Reply

      Hello Jessica
      Thank you for taking time to read my blog. I have tried many supplements, therefore, I’m not exactly sure which one you are asking about but in all seriousness I haven’t found a supplement that really helps with my fatigue levels. The eboost drink was successful for a short time but stopped working after a while as many things tend to do. To get me through the next several months of figuring out hormonal issues I have increased my prednisone and that has given me back some energy. This is not my preferred plan and once things start leveling off I will decrease again back down to 4mg but right now I need the 5mg to get me through this time in my life. Some other readers may have suggestions on supplements for fatigue and if they do I encourage them to write about it here and I’ll post. Good luck on your journey with fatigue.

      Nicole

  3. Jessica September 7, 2013 at 3:19 pm Reply

    Nicole, I was talking about the Adrenal Health. I actually bought some and just started taking it today. I will let you know if it works. I am looking for anything at this point. I too have MCTD and it’s pretty rough. I have a pretty stressful job and I am sure that is lending a hand to flares. I try to stay away from prednisone but I am starting to want to take it.

    • mevsmctd September 8, 2013 at 6:00 pm Reply

      Jessica Stress is part of our lives but there is such a fine line between what we can handle as normal stress and when it just becomes too much an our bodies revolt with flares. It is easier said than done to reduce stress, so perhaps you can just better manage it and you’ll know your are managing it when you have reduced flares and less fatigue. I wish you best of the luck as stress is never our friend.

      ________________________________

      • Jessica September 8, 2013 at 10:30 pm

        That’s my problem. It’s always too much. I have been considering stepping down from my position. Thankfully, my husband would stand by me if I ever decide that. I will let you know if the adrenal health helps.

Leave a Reply

