DAY 18 OF CHALLENGE

My research as started and I’m currently reading a book called “The Menopause Makeover” by Staness Jonekos and she puts out an 8 step program for 12 weeks so in my last blog where I write about my small and achievable challenges that is coming from this book.  Eating clean is the number one thing to do and yet your brain turns on you so fast and makes you think if you don’t find a piece of chocolate soon the world could end.  I have read many books that say if it isn’t around you won’t eat and very few of us will actually go out of our way for treats. Really this is not true during this stage of life.  There was a time when sweets and goodies didn’t mean anything to me and if I wanted it I ate it and if I didn’t I didn’t think about it again.  Now someone can just say the word chocolate or pastry or ice cream and I literally think about it all day.

I had a weird craving for twizzlers of all things and actually took my lunch break to go get some.  This is unheard of for me and yes it has happened more than once so although I truly understand clean eating and know what it means my brain can make me think death is right around the corner unless I do something about it.  One brain game deserves another so that is what I’m doing now I’m playing brain games.  Yesterday I told myself just make it through the day and you can have a treat tomorrow. Last night my husband asked if I wanted any ice cream and I said no not tonight but I’ll have it tomorrow.  Well tomorrow is here so I have to deal with that.  My small achievable goals are to walk my 11K steps, take a walk at lunch time and eat no sugar products until tonight.  Today I’m just telling myself that I can have ice cream tonight when I’m done with dinner and hopefully mind trick myself out of that when it arrives.  The days are long and weird cravings can consume them.  I have also started to add some cleaner grains and legumes back into my diet so that my body doesn’t feel entirely deprived and maybe will ease off the mental cravings.

In Day 18 of my challenge I walked 17089 steps which was pretty high for this day but it felt good and when I keep moving it seems to help with many aspects. Going back to basics and just walking is therapeutic and the fresh air is lovely so on days when I don’t do Bikram and I just walk those days are nice too.

2 thoughts on “DAY 18 OF CHALLENGE

  1. Marla Heasley-Harriman July 26, 2013 at 4:21 am Reply

    Hi Nicole,

    I wrote to you once before. I too have MCTD (RA, Lupus and Sjogrens). It started almost to the day that I turned 50. I turned 50, started having pain and went into menopause at the same time. OH JOY! I read your blogs and they inspire me. I first started with the Eat Right for Your Blood Type Diet and after reading your blogs, I have switched to Paleo. It really makes a difference for my pain. Thank you for that! Bikram Yoga is next. I keep saying next week I’m starting, but it hasn’t happened yet.

    As for craving sugar, I was doing that as well. I was told to try Chromium Picolinate and Alpha Lipoic Acid (ALA) and they will stop the sugar cravings. I have to say it works for me. It takes about a week. Just look them up online and read about them. They both, balance your blood sugar.

    Thank you for your inspiring blogs and your story. I pray for your healing!
    Marla

    • mevsmctd July 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm Reply

      Marla
      Thank you for writing to me and it is so interesting that you mentioned Chromium Picolinate because I did read about that and started about a week ago myself. I didn’t add the ALA but now I will research it and see what I can find out. I must admit that the last 2 days have actually gone rather well but I wasn’t exactly sure what to contribute it to. Thank you for the suggestion and so glad Paleo is working for you. As I get my head and hormones back in balance I’ll go back to strict Paleo as well.

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

