EXHAUSTION PHASE OF STRESS

Happy Holiday to all those celebrating a weekend of BBQ’s and family gatherings this weekend.  This is a favorite time of year for many people including myself because the weather is so warm that I completely forget about Raynaud’s for brief moments while I soak up as much vitamin D as my body will allow and my body allows for quite a bit. I love the hazy, hot and humid July weather even though it does cause extra swelling to my already sausage like fingers but the warmth I feel is better than cold I can endure.

In the midst of reading and researching various aspects of the changes in my life I ran across a series based on the phases of stress.  Before reading this I didn’t even realize there were phases of stress, but makes sense that there would be since there are phases to just about everything we encounter.  The phase that struck me the most was the exhaustion phase of stress.  I believe I’m in this stage and the exhaustion I feel is so strong it reminds me of the days when I was first diagnosed with MCTD and just functioning in my day to day activities was difficult.  I still managed to function back then and I’m functioning today but the amount of fatigue that comes from day to day activities puts me in bed to recover which hasn’t happened to me in a long time.

I had to go back 10 years and remember how I handled fatigue and go back to basics until I can seek the help from my doctors so in the meantime I do a little bit and rest. I literally have to rest.  I’m almost thinking that a challenge for myself would be beneficial right now in order to keep my head clear, keep my body moving, and keep my spirits up, but I also know that any challenge I start will be hard even if I keep it simple so this challenge may seem too easy for me but right now it is exactly what I need.

My challenge starts today and I’ll post each day with prior information so for the next 30 days I will get in 11K steps.  Even on days when I do Bikram I will find a way to stretch myself out and walk.  Walking is how I started my whole “get healthy” process and right now I need some get healthy procedures in my life.  I also think walking will be good to eliminate some stress while maybe taking me out of the exhaustion phase and not pushing me into adrenal fatigue. The weather is so nice that I should be outside as much as possible and walking is a wonderful way to enjoy the summer weather.  My challenge starts today and ends Aug 5th.

Leave a Reply

