FATIGUE

I am exactly 1 week and 1 day into my AIP – Autoimmune protocol and my fatigue level is so high.  I’m doing a lot of walking and some Bikram but went back to cross fit yesterday and although my session was fun and I had enough energy to sustain it I was exhausted later in the day.  Since I’m only eating vegetable, fruit and meat my carb intake is very low but I’m not losing any weight so I know that I’m getting enough calories but the high level of fatigue is concerning.

I have dealt with fatigue for 10 years with MCTD but I had really gotten that part under control and now to deal with it again is strange. I have called my new AIP doctor to get in sooner than a month and just make sure what I’m doing is correct.  There are certain things they are testing and waiting to see.  Some noticeable differences is my swelling is down, my stiffness is almost completely gone in my hands, but I’m not sleeping, I feel very stressed, and I’m so tired.  With the good comes the bad but I would like just a whole lot of good.

I have been taking holy basil to help with stress but I believe I need more than that.  I lose my patients fairly quickly, I cannot find the calm in my mind and I’m grumpy.  My husband mentioned that I was very grumpy which is not a normal trait of mine and I just said “I’m starving” but that’s not true. I’m not starving, because if I was I would be losing weight and I’m not.  I don’t feel satisfied mentally after any of my meals but physically I’m not hungry after my meal but I’m certainly looking for something else even though it is off limits.

I have this feeling that after this month I’m going to totally way over indulge and then I have defeated the purpose so I’m meeting with the doctor to make sure that I’m on the right path and doing the right thing for my body and my mind.  I don’t mind taking it easy with my workouts but I really enjoy my cross fit sessions and want to give them all I can so I would like to be able to do my work out and still function for the rest of the day without bonking.  I hope she has some good information for me and gets me back on the right path.

5 thoughts on “FATIGUE

  1. Alexa April 9, 2013 at 5:51 pm Reply

    love your blog. I’m newly diagnosed with MCTD and can definitely relate….still haven’t gotten my ass back to bikrams though, although I know it will help! check out my blog, it’s new and more of a personal journal to vent lol

    • mevsmctd April 9, 2013 at 7:31 pm Reply

      I wish you the best of luck in your journey with MCTD and hope you find the calm as you learn to manage your newly diagnosis.

      Nicole

  2. Gemma April 11, 2013 at 9:53 pm Reply

    Hi, I also have MCTD with a mix of sjogrens, hypothyroid and fibro. Would be interested to chat further re: foods etc. I can’t eat wheat, meat or lactose and the most recent foods to be eliminated are plants from the nightshade family. Foolishly had some potato today and my joints are now burning.

  3. Gemma April 11, 2013 at 9:58 pm Reply

    Two things – have you tried using a sad lamp? I use one everyday which really helps with my sleep and means I no longer have to take tabs with sedative effect. Have you had any probs with your stomach? I could eat all day long and still have a gnawing feeling in my stomach if I didn’t take omerprazole

    • mevsmctd April 11, 2013 at 11:00 pm Reply

      Gemma
      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and writing in with your suggestions and questions. I too was on omerprazole but once I switched to a grain free no nightshade diet I no longer need that medication. There are other medications that I do still need and my hope is that by following this new diet and lifestyle I may be able to decrease other meds. I have not used a sad lamp but will look it up and do some research.

      Isn’t it interesting how foods can affect our health and so quickly? Did you know before eating the potato today that it affected you so drastically? I wish you the best of luck in your journey and hope your joints stop burning soon. It can come and go so quickly and I hope it goes quickly.

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

