MY NEW FAVORITE SUPER FOOD

I have been experiment with different chia seed recipes and who knew these little seeds were so diverse.  I even have people in my office trying chia seed recipes so not only are we swapping recipes but we get to taste everyone’s creations. Some that I have tried is a banana/chia pudding in which I took ½ banana with 1.5 cups almond/coconut milk, 1 Tbsp. maple syrup in blender until smooth.  Added milk mixture with 1/3 cup chia seeds in a jar, shake well and refrigerate for an hour.  I used the other ½ of my banana as a garnish during serving.

I tasted one that was chia seeds in coconut water and the difference is that this one had a bronze color when mine all turn gray so the color is much more appealing.  Today I tried a chocolate chia seed pudding; this may actually be my favorite. I’m going to make for Easter because I think my nephew will really enjoy it as well.  This was 3 cups of almond milk, ½ cup chia seeds, 3 Tbsp. cocoa powder, 1 Tbsp. maple syrup, and mix in a bowl and refrigerate until desire consistency.  Some garnishes are dark chocolate shavings, whipped cream or even berries.  This one used white chia seeds which I hadn’t seen before and only ever buy the black ones.  The consistency was so good on this pudding and the chocolate flavor was quite nice.  This one didn’t have any garnishes but was still quite good.

I have read that chia seeds are in smoothies but I haven’t tried it yet. I have smoothie almost every day but not sure how the little seeds would taste. I do add ground flax seed to my smoothies but I can’t even taste that.  I may try grinding my chia seeds to make the same type of powder consistency as the flax and see how that tastes.  I have also been adding the chia seeds to my salads, sauces and in other types of food.

It is fun to come up with new recipes and try and new foods. I also love it when I come up with something that my little nephew also likes.  We haven’t ruined his taste buds yet with crazy foods so he can still enjoy the “sweet taste” of foods even if we haven’t added sweeteners.  I was listening to a podcast that said that raw almonds are actually sweet. I must admit I don’t taste sweet in them yet but maybe someday I will. I have badly ruined my own taste buds over the year which is why I won’t do it my little nephew as he has plenty of time to do that himself as he gets older!

Leave a Reply

