WEIGHT TRAINING

After 2 weeks of not doing very much of anything I did some weight training again and I felt like I was starting over.  I had gained so much strength in these last several months and felt the strongest I had ever felt.  I saw my doctor this past week as part of my normal routine and when he saw me I wasn’t feeling great with my cold but he said I looked really good and wanted to know what was going on.  I explained that my diet and exercise routine were helping me feel my very best and I was curious as to what my numbers looked like this time.  I’m still waiting for those numbers but I’m hoping to see the number of my inflammation going down and then I’ll know that this is working.

He asked about my weight training and I told him all I was doing, my weights, that I had no issues in my shoulders, elbows or wrists doing my pushups and he was surprised, pleasantly surprised but still surprised.  My little joints have caused me grief for my entire disease.  With every trainer I had had in the past I would stop my training because my little joints just could not take the pressure of the weight training I was doing. I think the diet comes into play here for me as I strengthen with the weights. The protein and fat and helping to build the muscles I’m creating with the weight training and the combination of the two have worked out very well for me. 

I will get back to where I was and I’m taking it slowly. If I rush this process I risk injury and I have worked too hard to injure myself with lack of patience. I’m back to 2 days of class cross fit training and also doing 1 day on my own.  The weights are light the reps are moderate and as I see results I’ll increase my weights and lower my reps to build the muscles back that I once had.  It really is true that when you don’t use it you lose your muscle way faster than you gain it.  Also, is true for gaining fat way faster than you lose fat but I’m not worried about losing fat at this point, just gaining back my muscle.  My husband liked having the strong me around to help out with all the heavy lifting around here and I look forward to assisting him again very soon.

One thought on “WEIGHT TRAINING

  1. Melanie Bowen March 13, 2013 at 6:44 pm Reply

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

Leave a Reply

