REST ANYONE?

The creepy cough and cold plague is hitting many people I know and made its way right into house-hold.  I have spent the last 14 days trying to get the creepy plague out of my life and just as I turn my corner and feel better my husband is down for the count.  This is happening everywhere and to everyone but we all do the same thing.  I went to the doctor and they said there is nothing that can be done with medication here this is strictly fluids and rest.  Rest? I’m not sure I even really know what that means. I feel like I rest plenty when I’m at home and in my yoga sessions.  There is no standing for long periods of time for me so no yoga, I guess no rest.  Also, my ears are so full I cannot walk without losing my balance which means no walking, doesn’t that automatically mean rest?  I know I’m making light of the situation but the idea that anyone can just climb into bed for 14 days until they feel better is not likely but when you don’t feel well you are forced to find ways to take it easy and rest even if it doesn’t mean bed rest. I also realize that not all colds and flu can be conquered by taking a pill but there must be ways to help relieve people’s suffering and yes it is suffering.

I’m fortunate in a sense because I do take prednisone so when I was feeling my absolute worst I took more prednisone for several days and sure enough the cure all drug kicked in and I was feeling much better. My husband doesn’t have that luxury nor do many other people but it worked for me and I did it.  Isn’t it ironic that the very drug I try so desperately to get off of and even put myself into flare over is the very drug I turned to, to make me feel better in my time of desperation?  Prednisone is a cure all and I know what it can do good and bad.  I have not been able to get back down to my lower dose yet and that will take some time but being the walking dead and trying to function on less than half a brain with no stability is not a pretty sight.

As the weekend approaches I have high hopes of getting back into the Bikram studio and sweating out the last of this nasty cold and starting over next week from the beginning in my cross fit sessions. I know I cannot walk into class and just pick up where I left off 2 weeks ago so I won’t even try.  Instead I’ll remember where I started and where I was a couple of weeks ago and know that I can get back there but it will take some time and my body is still recovering so it will do what it can do and not an ounce more.  Life is forever going to throw us for loops and I’m in one of those loops now but all in all my loops are fairly easy to maneuver.

2 thoughts on “REST ANYONE?

  1. Hawley, Jennifer March 1, 2013 at 1:12 pm Reply

    Nicole- Have you ever tried Melt Method? I found it on amazon and it seems like a logical practice to help with joints.
    I ordered the book and roller but I think of you as my expert on these things. I will let you know how the practice helps. I also purchased the hand ball to work on hand/foot exercises.

    Jennifer Hawley
    Product Line Administrative Assistant
    Caterpillar Global Mining Highwall Miners LLC
    304.253.0206 (Office)
    Jennifer.hawley@cat.com
    351 Ragland Road | Beckley, WV 25801

    Wherever there’s mining, we’re there.
    Mining.cat.com

    • mevsmctd March 1, 2013 at 3:06 pm Reply

      Jennifer I haven’t used the Melt Method but I use foam rollers a lot at the gym. They hurt when you first start using them but if you keep up with it the pain will evenutally go away and they feel good. I also use tennis balls on my feet and and my hips but when you first start with a tennis ball it is very uncomfortable, but again that will evenutally go away and you might find the pain is actually pleasurable. I bet the book the instructions will be very helpful for you and I can’t wait to hear how you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

