NEEDING COMFORT FOODS

I’m feeling much better and although my flare symptoms were done quickly the fatigue lingers much longer.  I did a lot of Bikram and walking and didn’t do as much weight training but today I’m back to a normal routine and feeling myself again. Having a MCTD flare is much like having a cold or flu in the sense that you don’t feel well and need to take extra care in getting yourself better.

My reserves were depleted, my fatigue was way high and I just didn’t have much will power left in my well over the weekend.  My body wanted pasta, namely macaroni and cheese, I wanted chicken noodle soup with saltine crackers, and I wanted toast.  Truth be told I really didn’t want any of things what I wanted was comfort. I wanted to feel better and comfort in the form of food makes people feel better.  I have not had pasta since before June, nor have I given it any thought.  I like mac & cheese as much as the next person but to go without it is really no big deal at this point.  I make chicken soup all the time just not with noodles or crackers.

Here is what saved me.  My defenses were down and I had nothing in the reserves to stop me from eating major amounts of comfort foods but I didn’t have them available to me.  When you walk into my kitchen and open the fridge, freezer, pantry or any cabinet there is nothing but the food that my husband and I eat regularly.  We don’t have a stash of foods that we want to eat again someday.  There is no pasta in my house therefore I could not go into the kitchen and whip up a yummy mac and cheese meal.  There is no cheese and no pasta the 2 main ingredients. I could have gone out to get pasta and cheese and crackers and anything else that my brain and body thought it needed at that moment but I wasn’t going to.  I didn’t feel well and we were battling Nemo. In general I don’t usually go to the store on a whim to buy anything.  We do our shopping once a week on the weekend and this week it just happened that my husband went on Friday morning before Nemo came to snow us in.  He bought only what we should and could eat and therefore that is what I had to work with.

I still have a comfort that I needed to feed so I did the next best thing by getting out my favorite Paleo recipe books and started to look at comfort foods.  I made banana bread, almond chocolate cookies, hot wings in the crockpot with celery and carrot sticks, pulled BBQ pork in the crockpot and yes even a chicken soup sans the noodles and crackers.  My body was getting all the comfort it desired and none of the gluten, inflammatory foods that I have chosen for myself not to eat.  My big splurge was yogurt and I must admit it tasted really good.  I haven’t had a Greek yogurt since this summer but my husband will still eat them from time to time so I asked if I could have one of his and sure enough it really felt like a treat.  It was sweet, creamy and fruity but it didn’t have a lot of added sugar or carbs and was high in protein so I was able to justify it.

Don’t get me wrong I don’t think there is anything wrong with yogurt in general but for me it is high is sugar and is dairy so I’m picky about it and I guess I really wanted one so I had it. It might be a while before I have another one at this point but I don’t regret having the one I had.  I would regret eating pasta, toast and chicken noodle soup out of can that I’m sure of.  Find comfort in foods that you deem worthy of eating for yourself and your health and then splurge.

4 thoughts on “NEEDING COMFORT FOODS

  1. Shalini February 12, 2013 at 3:05 pm Reply

    I needed to read this today! Thank you so much for sharing. Over the holidays I slipped up in my gluten free living, and now it’s so easy to “comfort ” myself with an everything bagel- this was my reminder of why I am making the diet choices that I do- and to stay committed! I have a question for you too; do you find that your symptoms worsen during your menses?

    • mevsmctd February 12, 2013 at 4:08 pm Reply

      Shalini
      We are all human and slip up but the more we change our enviroments we change our habits. To answer your question, yes I use to flare twice a month always during ovulation and during my actual cycle. I worked with my doctors and when my husband and I made the final decision to not have children they prescribed me med so that I do not have any cycles now and therefore do not flare due to hormonal changes and shifts. This option is not right for everyone but it was right for me at the time it was offered.

  2. Carmen Doubleday February 13, 2013 at 4:04 am Reply

    That’s great that you went to paleo foods for comfort. l think you can get alot of enjoyment from non gluten foods. l have celiac disease follow a strict gluten free diet. l have MTCD think l just had a flare up. l sometimes think it the start of allergy season. But that may just be my denial talking.

    • mevsmctd February 13, 2013 at 9:29 am Reply

      Carmen
      Did you find that when you stopped eating gluten any of your MCTD symptoms changed? I’m certain you felt many changes in general especially in the belly but I’m curious about joint pain, swelling an other MCTD symptoms.

Leave a Reply

