THE MIND IS SO STRONG

Usually when I’m having conversations with people about exercise and I hear them say they cannot do something my reaction is always to remind them that the mind will give out long before the body.  Our minds are programmed to take it easy and find the least complicated way of doing something.  Even the most disciplined people have to face the fact that our minds are so strong and can literally talk us into anything. Perhaps your mind/inner voice tells you to stay in bed and it is just easier than getting up so you do.  I have had this same inner voice start creeping into my life recently especially in the mornings.  I stayed in a bed a couple of mornings recently because I wasn’t sleeping well and thought that I should choose sleep over exercise but what I have found is that just those few times has made my mind tell me to stay in bed more and more.  I usually just get up early and start my day so I know my mind is speaking louder than normal.

I did get up this morning and went to Bikram which felt great on the body and the mind and my “fatigue” was gone so I know that it was the right decision to get up and proceed with my workout.  That brings me to my next big revelation about my over controlling mind…  I decided I would give intermittent fasting a try today.  I had a nice solid dinner last night and since my workout this morning was just Bikram, no cross fit or anything else I should be able to IF at least until noon which is my short term goal. The idea is to be able to fast for a full 24 hours but I’m working on a 16-18 hour goal to start.  My brain has not stopped thinking about food since I decided to do this IF experiment.  I think I need something to eat right now and I really cannot focus on anything else at the moment.  I’m not hungry, not really but the not being able to focus is making my day feel like I’m completely out of my routine.

My water intake is much greater today because I’m replacing that with food. I know I need more water during my days but always seem to forget about it.  Since I’m completely focused on food and water I’m getting all kinds of good liquids today and not able to “forget” about it.  What if food really wasn’t available to me?  That seems like an unlikely scenario since we are constantly surround by food but I hear people say that they don’t need to eat every few hours when eating a Paleoish diet and yet I’m not one of those people.

Granted, I am very active but still I would think that I could go 12-16 hours without too much difficulty.  I’m going to keep trying and perhaps I can perfect the art of IF.

6 thoughts on “THE MIND IS SO STRONG

  1. coachpaige January 17, 2013 at 5:16 pm Reply

    If this is your first fast your body and brain are going to go through a detox of sort (detoxing its dependency on sugars and such like that), which is why you are experiencing the lack of focus. Depending on what your eating habits were like before beginning the fast, or if you are on any medications, will affect your fast also. There are psychological, spiritual and emotional benefits to a controlled fast – I was wondering what your motivation for fasting is.

    Good job on fighting the inner conversation and getting on with your workout 🙂

    • mevsmctd January 17, 2013 at 11:15 pm Reply

      Paige
      Thank you for taking time to read my blog and send me a message. I know you are correct about it being a detox which is sort of why I wanted to do it in the first place. My motivation is really to see if I can do it and also to give my body a break from food. Almost a little vacation if you will so my system can rest. I have read a lot about IF and have been wondering if I could incorporate it into my lifestyle. I’m still unclear on that answer!!

      Nicole

      • coachpaige January 18, 2013 at 12:16 am

        One of the best reads on intermitted fast I’ve read actually comes from Precision Nutrition. They wrote a free ebook on it so if you want here is the link (I’m not promoting or paid) in case you want to learn more about fasting. http://www.precisionnutrition.com/intermittent-fasting

      • mevsmctd January 18, 2013 at 12:25 am

        Thank you for the posting the link. I too have read this and will read it again for a refresher course.

  2. I admire that you can fast. I usually cave. Once I did water fast for three days (incredible headache) and then switched to juice for 4 days, so a total of 7 days. I started feeling remarkably good. If only I had the will power to do it again.

    • mevsmctd January 22, 2013 at 7:45 pm Reply

      Honestly it was hard but not because my body needed food but because my mind did. I didn’t feel any pangs of hunger or light headedness but my mind wouldn’t stop thinking about food. It was so mental for me. I will try again in a week or two and hope that I can settle my mind.

Leave a Reply

