SUPER IMMUNE

Does it seem like everywhere you go someone is coughing, sneezing, and make noises that should not come from a human as they fight whatever illness they have at that particular time? I see these people at the gym and wonder what they have been touching so I don’t.  I encounter these people all day long at work and wonder what they got into and if they are realize that washing their hands and keeping their hands away from their faces is so important.  I find these people at the grocery store and usually in the produce aisle or cold and flu aisle. This time of year it seems as though everyone is so focused on building their immune system.  Making it better and stronger and taking supplements to assist in that effort.

I on the other hand am doing everything possible to keep my immune system quiet. My immune system is in overdrive so if I get a “bug” my immune system kicks in to take care of the bug but doesn’t know when you stop and starts to attack joints, muscles, ligaments and anything else it can get in contact with.  Echinacea is a supplement that people look high and low for this time of year but for me it just screams stronger immune system.  When I go to bed with a sore throat or wake up with a sore throat I know my body is working to fight something.  This is not an indication to me that I’m getting sick this is an indication that if the bug is small enough I will fight without too much difficulty, but it can also mean that I’m on the edge of a flare and if my body goes too far off track I will end up with the soreness, burning, nausea, fever and other various flare symptoms.

There was a time in my MCTD life that a sore throat absolutely meant a full blown flare.  Now my body recognizes it as an indication to step back and take notice.  I’m at 47 days without a flare but this morning when I woke up with a sore throat I had 2 choices.  My first choice and usually the route I take is to push through it and warm up in Bikram as well as sweat out whatever might be in my system.  I really wanted to choose this route this morning except that it was extremely cold here so I did choice number 2 which was stay in bed and try to get a little bit more rest.  When I finally woke I felt like completely better and have had a good day so far.  The problem with not starting my day off with some form of exercise first thing in the morning is because the rest of the day can get away from me and before I know it I haven’t done much.  This is a pattern I don’t want to fall into so on days like this morning I am conscience of my pedometer which I wear every day but on days like this I make sure I at least get in my 10k steps however, I can throughout my day.  It won’t be easy since I didn’t start out doing something but it is still totally manageable and makes me very aware.

The idea of resting when I need it is good and I’m committed to taking notice more times when I need rest over exercise or rest over friends and family but I also know that my body needs to be mobile, active and stay energized so I am committed to doing both, rest and activity. One does not win over the other it is a finding the right balance.  The good thing is that I will still hit the Bikram studio today to get the warmth in my bones but my practice is better in the mornings.  Tomorrow is a new morning.

2 thoughts on “SUPER IMMUNE

  1. Rachel January 9, 2013 at 12:23 pm Reply

    Really enjoying your blog, looking forward to seeing how you get on with the anti inflammation diet!
    I’m awaiting my blood test results to see if I have MCTD, intiailly I was tested for RA but the rheumatologist thinks my symptoms are more similar to MCTD, so we’ll see what happens!

    Best Wishes
    Rachel
    rachel_waltham@hotmail.co.uk

    • mevsmctd January 9, 2013 at 3:44 pm Reply

      Fortunately, RA and MCTD are very similar so your treatment may not need to change too much depending on what your doctor thinks. MCTD is an overlap disease for many other autoimmune such as RA. Good luck with your test results.

Leave a Reply

