TIS THE SEASON FOR FEASTING

Every time I turn around there is more food staring me in the face.  I’m sure this is happening everywhere considering this is the time of year that everyone shows their love with food.  I’m the same way and spend hours in the kitchen making everyone’s favorite treats.  When bellies are full and people are smiling I feel like I have done my job for the year.  However, I also don’t want to be on the receiving end of all that love that other people want to show to me.  Our office setting is full of goodies and food.  We have actually set up a designated area just for the goodies and food.  Each day something else arrives that looks incredibly delicious.

I decided to combat this potential eating problem with a commitment to myself.  My commitment is that I can indulge in anything food I want to as long as it is gluten free. I realize this does not solve my issue with sugar and eating crap food but by making this deal with myself right off the bat I have eliminated more than half of the problematic foods that face me.   Very rarely do people bake gluten free foods, or do companies have tins of gluten free cookies and cakes delivered to office settings. So far this deal is working quite well.  Granted the season has just started but as long as I keep this deal I should sail nicely through this holiday season.  The nuts and gluten free candies are still available and if I feel like I need a little bite I have one without guilt or ill feelings.

This time of year we pick and choose what to say yes to in terms of parties, food, goodies, time, and our own personal space.  I just want to make sure I pick and choose wisely as to not get overly fatigued, stressed, or start eating weird things that may not make me feel so good going forward.  Will there be slip ups? I’m certain of it, but the less the slip ups I have the better off I’ll be when this holiday season is finally over and hopefully I’ll be flare-up free through this stressful time.  My main concern is fatigue and I have a tendency to overdo just like everyone else but if I make my health first priority then everything should fall nicely into place.

On top of that my trainer is pushing us hard because she knows people have a tendency to overdo it this time of year and if our arms are too sore to lift then we won’t be able to reach for those extra goodies.

2 thoughts on “TIS THE SEASON FOR FEASTING

  1. I love bread, but have managed to be wheat free thus far sine Dec 1st. I wish you luck!

    • mevsmctd December 6, 2012 at 6:36 pm Reply

      Being wheat free helps with so many things, therefore, I hope you find true benefits to giving up your love for bread. I didn’t think I would be able to give up pasta but the longer it has been the way easier it becomes. Goodl luck with your journey.

Leave a Reply

