40 IS THE NEW 20

Do you see a theme here? My “news” will stop after this one, well maybe.  Honestly today is my 40th birthday and I don’t feel any different today than I did yesterday. I don’t feel 40 but then again what is 40 supposed to feel like? Many people say I don’t look like I belong in the 40 club and I take that as a compliment.  I certainly don’t want to look older than 40 but I really don’t think I’m a good judge of how old people are based on how they look. I usually always get it wrong when I try to guess someone’s age. 

Some days I feel old and tired but most days I just feel normal and grateful I can do what I want most of the time.  Soon I’ll be expressing that 50 is the new 30 but not for another decade.  I wonder how I will feel a decade from now?  Last decade I was planning my wedding and my life with my new husband.  This decade I’m working hard so I don’t have to the next decade and I’m enjoying being an Auntie to my favorite little nephew.  I’m also enjoying being a wife, sister, daughter and friend to my best support group in the entire world.  The people with me today are the same people that were with me a decade ago and I’m hoping these same people will be standing next to me all through this decade and many more to come.  I have surrounded myself with an incredible support system and the love they have for me is overwhelming. I in turn would do anything for them and I say my Namaste for each and everyone of them.

I spent the morning of my birthday at a 6am Bikram class and honestly there was no where else I wanted to be at 6am.  As the day went on I spent it with my husband, another place and person I wouldn’t want to be anywhere without and later I’ll see the rest of my family.  I’m an extremely lucky person and honored to be loved so deeply. 

3 thoughts on “40 IS THE NEW 20

  1. Jennifer Reinhardt October 27, 2012 at 10:50 pm Reply

    Happy Birthday Nicole!

  2. Shalini November 2, 2012 at 3:07 pm Reply

    Happy birthday! Just wanted to say thank you for this blog, I was diagnosed in August with MCTD and since then have been trying so hard to wrap my mind around what this means for me and my family ( I have a wonderful supportive husband and two preschoolers). It’s been tough and I have been spending so much time just trying to gather information and make changes in my life ( diet etc.) that might help; in my daily online ” search storms” I came across your blog and currently read it a couple of times a week- it has been refreshing to hear from someone living with this who is realistic but positive and proactive! It makes me hopeful to read about how active you are; yoga and other exercise used to be an important part of my life but I have found it challenging to fight through the fatigue to fit that in ( as well as everything else!) – and it is disheartening to have to modify so much during a yoga class due to carpal tunnel in both my hands. Reading your posts inspires me and reassures me that I can work towards improving. Thank you thank you!

    • mevsmctd November 2, 2012 at 7:04 pm Reply

      Shalini
      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and write to me. Every day is different and even though you feel like you are caught in the current of fatigue there will come a time when you find your balance and have days when you feel good. On those days make the most of it but don’t over do it or you’ll just put yourself back in the state of fatigue and with 2 preschoolers they are taking most of your energy already.

      I wish you the best of luck in your journey and enjoy your good days.

Leave a Reply

