WALKING BENEFITS

Like everything else there are two sides to every story and in my research I have come across information that advocates walking and other information that says that walking virtually has no benefits to the body in the physical sense.  They believe that it is very social and mentally can slow down the stressors of the body but don’t believe it can be considered a form exercise.  How can this be true? I started my whole life transformation 9 years ago simply by walking.  Nothing more than putting one foot in front of the other and increasing my steps a little bit every single day.  I know that anyone will say anything, right or wrong, or even dead wrong but it is up to us as consumers to this information to weed through the garbage and do what is right for us.  If someone and I’m sure they are out there said you can lose weight by eating Krispy crème donuts every day for 90 days I would read the article since I read all kinds of stuff whether I agree or not and chalk it up to “not for me”

This past summer 3 articles came out all right around the same time. One stating that eating eggs was as bad as smoking, one that said that there was no research to back up the use of fish oil or omega 3’s and finally that organic food was not as healthy as non-organic.  All three of these articles I read and took them for what they were, people’s opinion, but not my opinion.  However, hearing someone say that walking was not a form of exercise actually made my skin crawl but I also had to remember that this same person has an exercise book out in the market and wants people to believe his concept and buy his book.  Capitalism at its best but why not incorporate walking with his workout regime?  The only answer I can think of is because his front cover can’t say work out in 30 minutes a week then.   It might not be realistic for people to believe that they can get proper exercise from only 30 minutes a week unless they do absolutely nothing right now and then even 30 minutes out 168 hours in a week might make sense.

I was disappointed that this person made reference to weight training but adding walking didn’t add any benefit.  I think that anytime the body is moving in a walking exercise the body working, balancing, and benefiting from the movement.  Walking is such a great place for people to start even when their journey seems so unmanageable. I continue to listen to people’s opinion as well as read their opinions and then form my own, just as I’m sure you all do too.  I will continue to tell people to walk as much as possible because I believe it has great benefits.

3 thoughts on “WALKING BENEFITS

  1. balancingstick October 4, 2012 at 6:01 pm Reply

    We’re totally on the same page! That study about organic food had a very shady research methodology. It’s all about moving a lot at a slow pace!

  2. Sal Mc Kenna October 7, 2012 at 10:44 am Reply

    I couldn’t agree more, I think that to say walking has no benefits seems ridiculous to me, I have always used walking as part of my fitness regime and find it great for both body and mind

  3. mevsmctd October 7, 2012 at 4:45 pm Reply

    I started my day with a nice walk outside on this chilly autumn morning and then warmed up in the Bikram studio. Walking is my go to exercise anytime I can and will continue as long as my legs allow.

Leave a Reply

