CROSS FIT TRAINING

The month of August I was taking a cross fit class twice a week and really excelling with the workout. Once Sept got here I was trying to figure out how this month would look and I think I have a good routine now. I did not sign up for the new class schedule but I now keep my own journal book and write down my WOD for the day.  I have a rotation between HIIT workouts, Ladder Workouts, Tabata Workouts, sprints and days for walking, vinyasa flow and Bikram.  My workout schedule has some real balance to it now.  Or should I say my walking and weight training workouts have balance.  My yoga could use some more balance. However, I haven’t figured out how many days a week I want to do yoga.  Some weeks I feel like I need it every day and other weeks if I get in one Bikram class and my 2 vinyasa classes I feel like that was sufficient.  Perhaps this is how I find my balance by just listening to what I need and accommodating it.

The other day I was explaining to my husband that this is the strongest and best I have felt in 9 years maybe even ever.  It is hard for me to remember how I felt prior to MCTD because I wasn’t paying much attention to anything.  Now I’m paying attention and taking notice.  I think I’m actually taking more notice now since I feel so good.  A few months ago if I got up and felt stiff and sore I would chock it up to MCTD and that was just my norm and go about my day.  Now when I wake up I really take an inventory of how does my body feel, am I waking up rested or not, Are my fingers swollen and sore, do I mentally want to tackle the day or do I need more rest?  These are questions that start my day and then once I have evaluated those questions I can move on to what is my WOD for the day, what is menu for the day, am I going out for a workout or staying home and working out?  Once I tackle that I can think about the rest of my life, my husband, my career, my family, when am I seeing my nephew and what does my day look like.

There was an article written a while ago about a woman with an autoimmune disease and she was describing it as “The Spoon Theory” as having a handful of spoons and whereas the normal person doesn’t think in terms of spoons when you don’t feel well it takes spoons to get activities done.  One spoon for getting out of bed, one spoon for showering, one spoon for making and eating breakfast, one spoon for commuting to work, and usually by a certain time you have exhausted all your spoons and exhausted yourself.  I feel like I have increased my number of spoons by increasing my physical strength and don’t feel nearly as exhausted some days in the past.  This doesn’t mean I won’t ever feel exhausted again and it doesn’t mean I don’t refuel with tons of rest every chance I get it just means that it seems like I can go longer without feeling this fatigue and without feeling a burden on my body. After 128 days without a flare-up I’m feeling accomplished, however, this is not my longest time without a flare and hoping to reach that 200 day mark and even see 300 days at some point but as you know I take it one day at a time and today I say 128.

 

Please see below if you are interested in reading the full article of “The Spoon Theory”

http://www.butyoudontlooksick.com/articles/written-by-christine/the-spoon-theory/

Leave a Reply

