BIKRAM PRACTICE

I have been lucky enough to be in the Bikram studio several days in a row therefore I am seeing a real shift in my practice.  I was feeling like my practice was suffering but yesterday and today I saw some real progress again.  The classes have been full with people and still fairly hot and humid but the last couple of days I was able to breath and relax even in an otherwise stressful situation.  The full classes in the past have stressed me out unless I’m in a regular practice and then they aren’t so stressful.  I think in general Bikram has been a stress reliever for me except for isolated situations where my practice isn’t great and the room is full.

I have 3 more days to hit the Bikram studio and hope that I keep this positive progression with my practice.  I have also backed down some exercise prior to Bikram so I can conserve energy.  This morning I did heavy lifting and lots of walking prior to my Bikram practice which I think also helps.

I am due for a sprinting practice in the next couple of days so I will be fitting that in before a Bikram practice but my hope is if I just do my sprinting and no other exercise and take a break between sprinting and Bikram my fuel tank will be full again to succeed with a  great Bikram class as well. If not I’ll try something new.  I have always been good at listening to my body but now I’m really developing that skill and listening even closer.  The podcast I listen to every day will gear in towards if you are feeling this way, and I think do I feel that way and most of the time no but sometimes yes.  After really hard workouts I am fatigued and the idea is to refuel with carbs but I’m not refueling with carbs and trying to do ketogenic workouts.  I got myself some keto sticks and in all honesty I am not in ketosis but I’m also not willing to drop any fruits or vegetables to lower my carb intake either.

6 thoughts on “BIKRAM PRACTICE

  1. Jessica Sideways September 6, 2012 at 6:33 pm Reply

    I’m glad you were able to get some benefits from a regular practice. I feel sad that I had to interrupt my practice last year due to some economic issues and I look forward to starting it up in a little while.

    • mevsmctd September 6, 2012 at 10:28 pm Reply

      Jessica
      Thank you for reading my blog. I hope you are able to find yourself back in a studio soon, there is something very therapeutic about being in a hot room, sweating with other people as committed as yourself and somehow finding a certain peace.

  2. up2wellbeing September 7, 2012 at 8:03 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on up2wellbeing.

  3. balancedpeanut September 13, 2012 at 7:16 pm Reply

    This is a great post! Very encouraging! Thought you might like this post as well:
    http://balancedpeanut.com/2012/09/13/the-founder-of-bikram-yoga/

    • mevsmctd September 13, 2012 at 8:55 pm Reply

      I like the post about Bikram. I have read a lot of his stuff including interviews magazine articles, he is quite a character and makes no apologies for being successful. He truly is the McDonald’s of yoga but for me there is something very comforting about going into that hot room and doing the postures. I find it intense but in a calming fashion. Truth is I love all types of yoga but Bikram is the only one I do on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

