STAYING MOTIVATED

I’m going to take a break from the Paleo and fitness blog for a moment and just talk about staying motivated.  I was at work on Friday and someone said to me how is it that you stay motivated every day even in the summer time.  They went on to say how in the summer time they are just enjoying life and don’t see the point in exercising and with all the BBQ parties and other gatherings they don’t watch what they eat but they’ll start again after summer.  I didn’t say this but what I was thinking to myself is if they take the summer off and then expect to get back into a routine come fall they are side tracked again by Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s so now they are taking the holidays off and in full blown winter and needing comfort food so they may end up taking the winter off and low and behold they are back to spring worried about getting into their tank tops, bathing suits and dresses. 

As the conversation goes they didn’t really want my answer to the original question but it brought up a good point for me that I wanted to share with you.  The question was “how do I stay motivated every day?”  Very simple, I have to.  I don’t have the luxury of taking time off for fear of stiffness, soreness, fatigue, and having a worn out body. I am learning that my body doesn’t need  hours of exercise to function daily but needs to be mobile whether that means walking, yoga, weight training, classes, sprinting, interval training, Bikram yoga or anything else that keeps my joints moving and limber. As far as food and diet, again I can’t afford to eat whatever I want when I want for fear of putting weight on already compromised joints, or feeling fatigue from filling my body with foods that don’t work for me or just eating for the sake of eating.

When I say I have to keep motivated I mean it. For me I’m not willing to sit back and let MCTD over take my life.  However, I also see the flip side of the disease or similar diseases where people have autoimmune but don’t have the motivation to take the steps necessary to do what is needed.  What makes me different from them? This answer is a little more complex.  When I found out I had MCTD I was starting a new life with a new husband with hopes of being a mother.  The day I received this news I had 2 options take control or be controlled.  That day I was armored with a superior doctor, a supportive and loving husband and family and my own will to make life work living with MCTD.  I have days that aren’t easy and especially in the beginning it was downright exhausting but as I kept with my new lifestyle I found that days got easier which made staying on plan easier.  I have tried everything and still trying as you can see from my recent posts.  My goal is to be flare-up free for as many days in a row as possible. Today I’m at 104 days and still counting.

The question to ask yourself is what is your motivator?  What literally gets you out of bed every day and tackle the day ahead of you even when you don’t feel like it? What keeps you trying for your flare-up free days?  What keeps you motivated to try different things that may or may not help with MCTD? Whatever your motivators are hold on to those things, don’t lose your focus and keep trying.  If you don’t feel like you can get out of bed then you probably shouldn’t but when you are ready to get up take that time to walk just a little bit and remember that every little step you take today means for more good health and flare-up free days later. 

Leave a Reply

