After a week at the lake indulging in a lot of food and drinks that aren’t in my daily menu I’m glad to be off the water and back at home. There is something very comforting in being in my own home, my own bed, eating my own food and working out when and where I want.  I was able to walk a lot and do some kayaking but that kind of activity doesn’t exactly negate the food and drinks that we were consuming. It was vacation and there is a time for vacation in our lives as well so we enjoy ourselves and then get back to the real world.

This morning I was able to get up and head to the gym for a workout and also go to Bikram which my body and mind really needed.  As I entered the studio my fellow yogi women were excited to see me as I was to see them.  There is a detox that takes place in my body and mind when I come home from vacation and start living in reality again.  I love the camp life, the talks on the dock and the connections I get to re-generate with my family.  I also enjoy being at home where it is quiet and just my husband and I enjoying our life together.

Now that I’m back from vacation I need to focus on my cross fit training, weight training and Bikram practice.  The first week is always the hardest and my first day back in Bikram was really difficult today because my body has to get use to the heat and the postures all over again.  My focus will be on getting back to regular exercise but I’m also going to start the 21 day Primal Blueprint.  Each day of my 21 day blueprint has things that I need to achieve so I’ll share them with you as I’m going along.  Some of it might seem really logical but at the same time it is part of the blueprint and I’m following the blueprint for 21 days and see how I feel.

Today I feel tired, a little out of sorts and yes I’m full of fluid but that is because of the food and drinks as well as my body just not feeling as great after vacation as I was feeling before vacation. The sodium in foods while eating out is so high and therefore that is water retention that I’m holding on to but at the same time I didn’t have any days of high sweating days to take fluid off the joints and out of my hands.  That will be relieved this week and and hopefully over the next 21 days I will have a real change in my body and how I’m feeling.  I’m looking forward to working the blueprint and although some of it is a bit out of my comfort zone I need to feel the discomfort and move on to the next step.  There are many aspects of the blueprint and I’m going to follow them all.

Leave a Reply

