CROSS FIT

I was only able to get in one Cross Fit session this week  and since every session is different this one was a 300 repetition session. You perform 12 different exercises with 25 reps each and at the end of the 30 minutes you have completed your 300 repetition workout. She had us start out with jumping jacks, into squats, the dreaded mountain climbers (this might be my least favorite exercise of all time) on to burpees, (no wait these are even worse than mountain climbers) and on the list went.  I was so exhausted after performing these 300 different repetitions which is the whole point.  Although, I’m not sure all the jumping around is really geared for me.

I don’t want to throw the “getting older” card out there but honestly the older we get the least comfortable it is to really jump all over the place.  Bunny hops not something my body really does not want to do but I did it.  She gave us 12 different exercises and said when our next 300 session comes around be prepared for 12 different moves.  This is all part of keeping the body guessing so it can’t predict what is coming next.  Is there really anything wrong with a little prediction? I think not!

I’m going to be taking a week off from Cross Fit and will resume the week of 8/20 for more fun filled jumping, running, intensive training.  I think I actually prefer the weight training part compared to the cardio stuff.  When I’m vacation though, I have my Tabata training planned out, lots of walking, sprints and of course yoga.  I’m hoping to make it a family affair with family workout sessions each day.  Will that be before or after eggs and bacon for breakfast?

3 thoughts on “CROSS FIT

  1. Jenny August 14, 2012 at 4:13 pm Reply

    Thank you so much for a truly inspiring blogg! I was diagosed with MCTD end April this year (a few days before my 40th birthday). I had been feeling unwell for about 6 months, but other than that, this “thing” caught me off guard, and I was completely hysterical for a while. Researching the internet, most things I read was so depressing I felt like my life had ended. But then I stumbled upon you blogg, and you have given me the inspiration to get moving again! I decided to fight this by doing the contrary to what my body tells me; I feel my body tells me to lie down and sleep 18 hours a day, and preferably move as little as possible. But I am not listening, I am moving and running and walking with my dogs, and I am participating in dog-agility. Thank you so much again! Sincerely yours, Jenny

    • mevsmctd August 14, 2012 at 6:12 pm Reply

      Jenny
      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Like you I was looking for inspiration and not finding much. However I realized that everyday I could get out of bed was inspiration enough for me. I am thrilled you incorporate your dogs in your journey. They need you and that is huge motivation.

      Good luck and keep me posted on how you are doing.

      • Jenny August 14, 2012 at 8:29 pm

        I just wanted to say, thank you for your reply! Have a great holiday! Hopefully you will write a post about what you have been up to!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

