LOGGING STEPS

Summer is technically in about a week away but it certainly feels like summer here in Portland Maine, therefore, I’m able to be outside and doing lots of walking.  I’m logging some series steps these days and getting some much needed fresh air.  Being cooped up for so many months waiting for the nice weather to arrive can make a person crazy for fresh air. I’m crazy for fresh air now.

Every opportunity I get I head outside to walk around and take in the sights.  I’m still getting to Bikram but only a couple days a week which has been difficult for me for different reasons. I miss the practice, I miss the people and I miss the social aspect I got from Bikram.  Which actually sounds a little crazy since yoga in general is such a personal practice.

I’m still getting in a couple nights a week with my husband at our yoga studio as well but most of my time right now is spend just walking.  I’m not running yet but I hope to be running daily before the end of the summer. I first have to start with walking and, logging my miles there and then progressing to running.  Looking forward to summer and all it has to offer.

2 thoughts on “LOGGING STEPS

  1. Jennifer June 16, 2012 at 2:44 pm Reply

    I try to walk for about 30-40 minutes every morning. It is especially beautiful these days, when the sun is rising at 5:30. I have to wear sunglasses some mornings, even at 6 a.m., amazed that at the very same time in December I was carrying around a flashlight and wearing reflective clothing so I could find my way in the dark. I never use my iPod on my morning walks; I love to listen to the birds, the scurrying squirrels, the gentle hum of the day in its early stages. Walking is a great way to start the day!

    • mevsmctd June 16, 2012 at 4:02 pm Reply

      Jennifer
      I have always been a fair weather walker so when I read you walk in the winter with a flashlight I have to congratulate you! It takes determination to get up and walk in the dark and the cold. I often discuss with my husband adding a furry companion to our family so I’m forced to get up and walk every morning regardless of the weather. He gently reminds me I don’t have a lot time for a pup right now but someday. Until then I’ll enjoy the walks by myself on nice days!

Leave a Reply

