SHINGLES

When having a comprised immune system I don’t necessarily get colds and the flu but I pick up other strange things like Shingles.  What is shingles; Shingles (herpes zoster) is a painful, blistering skin rash due to the varicella-zoster virus, the virus that causes chickenpox. I had the chickenpox as a child so therefore it is my understanding that anyone who had chickenpox can carry the Shingle virus and it can be dormant for many years or forever but is prominent in people over the age of 60 which I’m not, people who had chickenpox before the age of 1, I had them but not before the age of 1,  or people with comprised immune systems.  Ding Ding that is me.

I realized I had it when I saw the blisters and look it up on line.  It is painful to most people but because I live with a certain level of pain this did not faze me.  Also, there is a certain tingle or numbness that goes along with it. I don’t have any of that.  I did get on the antiviral medicine within 72 hours but my blisters were already fully formed so my chances of having it again are increased.  The hope is that I can tell when the next bought comes on and get on the medicine quickly.  Stress will probably be my next trigger so without living in a bubble how does one not have some stress?  I do daily yoga, I eat right, I exercise daily, I rest when I need to, and I recognize when I’m dealing with fatigue and take care of it.  Even as I’m sitting in the doctor office going over all this he turns to me and makes the comment that with MCTD and Shingles I’m still probably healthier than most of the people he sees in a normal day.

My Rheumatologist did not want to come into his office because all his patients have compromised immune systems and I would be a danger to all of them.  I usually do everything through him but instead I worked through a different doctor that my Rheumatologist worked with.  I will need to be careful around people for about 2 weeks and I can have zero interaction with my nephew for 2 weeks.  That is really hard for me but I realize I cannot jeopardize his health.

4 thoughts on “SHINGLES

  1. Edison Steinhorst June 26, 2012 at 4:25 pm Reply

    Shingles can really give an individual a few nasty rashes. This is also a extremely infectious disease. An individual ought to avoid physical contact as much as possible to anybody suffering from shingles. Advice them to get a rest and balanced diet program until these people recover from this particular illness.

    • mevsmctd June 26, 2012 at 4:33 pm Reply

      Thank you for your comments.

    • mevsmctd May 16, 2016 at 12:56 pm Reply

      Hello Elida
      I’m so sorry to hear that you are suffering from Shingles. I too encountered a bout of shingles several years ago which is not uncommon for people that have compromised immune systems. My Shingles didn’t turn out to be too bad but is sounds like yours was pretty severe. For anyone else dealing with autoimmune diseases you may want to speak to your doctor about the Shingles vaccine. It is not effective if you have already had Shingles but it may prevent someone from getting it. Since my episode was not to bad I probably would not have chosen the vaccine if I had the choice only because I prefer to let my body deal with what may come if I can. I do wish you a quick recovery Elida and hope that other readers will talk to their doctor’s about Shingles and what it means.

      Nicole

  2. Elida H. May 16, 2016 at 6:33 am Reply

    Currently dealing with shingles and MCTD. My sympathies. I am still feeling pretty crappy after an overnight in the hospital.

Leave a Reply

