ENDURING FLARE

Yesterday I went back to zero days without a flare and I find it interesting that I just wrote a blog about flares, what they mean to me and how I determine one.  There was no question that Saturday was a full blown flare for me.  I woke up in the middle of the night edgy and unable to sleep. 

On my way to Bikram the sore throat started but I thought maybe the Bikram practice would help.  Sometimes it does, and sometimes it doesn’t.  This time it didn’t really work in the flare flavor. During my practice I could feel the pain and burning start in my joints and especially my lower back.  The instructor came up to me and asked if I was alright since I was extremely pale. I told her not to worry about me and I did what my body would allow me to do.  For instance when we hit the floor our transition posture is a situp but my lower back was not allowing any situps so I just rolled to one side and sat up.  I had to make many modifications to my practice while also remaining true to alignment. I was exhausted when I was finished and walking very gingerly for everything from my jaw to my feet was hurting.

As soon as I walked through the door my husband knew immediately what was happening and just helped me upstairs to a shower then to lie down to wait it out.  I spent the day moving very slowly but moving when I could and this morning I was right back to normal.  I feel tired but my body is good as new.  This is a debilitating flare and it comes on fast and hard with serious consequence and then gone just as fast.  I don’t know if I appreciate the fury of this type of flare or if the teetering for days but no pain is better.  I guess neither is great, just life.

2 thoughts on “ENDURING FLARE

  1. rsmith February 28, 2012 at 7:32 pm Reply

    I also have mctd and am
    experiencing a flare with a vast variety of symptoms affecting several body systems it is hard to explain and for others to understand symptoms they can’t see and which I do not know how to prove they exist. I have pain in my throat burning sensation across the bridge of my nose headaches imbalances weakness urinary frequency swollen hands tingling scalp blurry vision dry mouth salty taste to food hand and leg cramps pleuritic type chest pain just to mention a few. But the only visible proof is hand hand swelling and puffy eyes with red sales sclera. And of course comments ate made that my sx are just side effects of steroids but I know thry started prior to use and steroids were just increased with exacerbation of sx I need to know if anyone else is having similar sx what helps and what Labwork of other tests you get done during a flare. My mctd was confirmed by woodwork in the beginng but what tests tell you hoe bad a flare is? I am tired of feeling so bad and having to probe hoe bad I feel just need to know someone undetstands

    • mevsmctd February 28, 2012 at 8:31 pm Reply

      Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and write to me. I understand your frustration and wanting to be heard and get some answers. Unfortunately, with MCTD there aren’t easy answers. The tests that are typically run every 4-6 months depending on what is requested by your doctor show various levels of inflammation or proteins in your system. Seeing your doctor during a flare the first time may not be such a bad idea but I honestly don’t know if the readings will change but they can certainly go over that with you. There can be certain side effects to your medications and depending on how your flares come and go they might be quick where your side effects may be longer.

      Keep talking to your doctor and explaining what is happening with you because it can take a long time to get the right regiment of medications to stable things for you. The sore throat is very typical of MCTD and that is usually my first indicator that a flare is upon me. I have been able to pick up my signs pretty quickly now and I too have swollen hands and feet which I have learned to live with and try to get the fluid off by sweating daily with exercise but I know it is hard to think about exercise when you don’t feel well. Keep talking, keep putting one foot in front of the other and keep hope, you will find your level of management for MCTD.

Leave a Reply

