GETTING TO KNOW OUR GROUP

            The first night’s program session is all about meeting your group, your instructors, and getting a feel of the next few days. Our class has about 20 people mostly an older group of woman with 2 couples, myself and husband being one of them and the other is a bit older with children about 10 years younger than us.  There are 3 young men in their 20’s and a young woman from NY who isn’t quite sure what she wants or what she is doing here but trying to find her way.  There is a woman my age here with 5 small children at home. I admire her for taking a few days by herself to come explore a different world and maybe some new ideas. She looks very tired.

            There is a father and husband here who is taking this class while his wife and children are explore the adventures of circus yoga.  There really is such a thing called circus yoga and there really are children here at Kripalu.  I didn’t experience any children at Kripalu my first time and it was very quiet. I don’t expect it to be quiet with kids they need to be who they are and express themselves with laughter, questions and ideas.  The “Silent breakfast” should be interesting.

            Our instructor is a woman who came to Kripalu in 1983 to explore the love of yoga and has stayed ever since.  She is full of wisdom and calm and has this very inviting energy.  Her assistants are a little less experienced but not by much and they come with this amazing energy of wanting to teach us while also learning from us and our main instructor Megha. I’m looking forward to what this weekend has in store for us.

            The first hour and half consisted of our meet and greet with some meditation. This program is “Intro to yoga and meditation” but from what I can tell it is a lot more of meditation and you can seek the yoga elsewhere on the premises. I’m not sure how this will help my husband find his way onto his mat but we’ll see how the weekend plays out. It is nearly 10pm, we are both exhausted and wondering how we will sleep.  Interestingly enough, our instructor made a comment and said the problem isn’t lack of sleep but instead worrying about the lack of sleep. I decided I was not going to worry and if I don’t sleep I’ll make up for it another time.  It is all about being in the moment and this is my moment.

5 thoughts on “GETTING TO KNOW OUR GROUP

  1. David December 2, 2011 at 7:17 pm Reply

    Megha is the real deal. You’re fortunate. Classically, yoga is heavy on meditation and the asanas (postures) are in the service of keeping your health and preparing the body for long periods of meditation. Meditation is hard for just about everyone. Encourage him to give it a fair chance and be patient. It’s very important to stay present while practicing yoga – that’s hard to do and it’s a big part of the practice. Meditation will help with that. Excellent that you and your husband are there together. Oh, and be sure to drag him to the yogadance in the big room near the dining room tomorrow (Saturday.) Get him out there and get him to give himself permission to move. It’s amazing! It’ll be a sweet experience to talk about when you get home.
    Peace
    David

    • mevsmctd December 3, 2011 at 9:58 am Reply

      Thank you for your words of encouragment. I am in the process of gently encouraging all my husband wants to try without pushing or “nagging” I’m hoping we find a new relationship on the mat since we have such a special relationship off the mat.

      ________________________________

  2. Jennifer December 4, 2011 at 4:30 pm Reply

    Hello! I was directed to your blog after it came up in my Google Alerts for “Kripalu.” I went there for my 200-hour yoga teacher training in 2006 and fell in love with the place and its people. I look forward to reading about your program, especially with Megha being your facilitator. She was one of my main teachers during my program, and her spirit is infectious.

    I really like your style of writing. It’s so simple and honest, and I feel like I’m meditating when I read it. I’m glad I stumbled across your blog!

    • mevsmctd December 4, 2011 at 6:11 pm Reply

      Hello Jennifer
      I am curious if you are currently teaching Kripalu or another type of yoga? I’m working towards making some life changes and interested in joining a school yoga myself to start training. I need to accomplish a few other things first but in the meantime it allows me a chance to decide if I’ll to the Kripalu route or the Bikram route. Both are extreme poloar opposites but both fit my needs and personality so well.
      Like you I found Megha to be wonderful and looking forward to working with her again in the future. My husband enjoyed Randall Williams and found hinm to be quite motivating as well as relaxing. We all have our favs at Kripalu.

      Nicole

      • Jennifer December 6, 2011 at 6:22 pm

        I am no longer teaching yoga; I only taught for about a year after being certified through Kripalu. I have no regrets about doing the training, though. It taught me so much about myself and how to strengthen my own practice; it just so happened that once I officially slipped into the “teaching” shoes, I realized I liked being a student instead. As much as I loved my Kripalu experience, though, I’m not sure I would do the same kind of intensive program again. It was very hard to come home from an environment in which all conditions were ideal and I never had to worry about deciding what to eat, traffic, and all the little things that make up everyday life. I think doing a training that is spread out over a longer period of time may be a little closer to real life and make for an easier post-YTT transition.

Leave a Reply

