A NEW KIND OF FATIGUE

            I must tell each and every one of you with children that you are remarkable.  It is amazing how much energy, strength and stamina it takes to raise a child.  I had a wonderful few days taking care of my nephew while his mommy and daddy took a much needed vacation together.  I love this little boy so much and I’m amazed by him every minute.  He is running and playing and mumbling which is so fun but way exhausting.

            I have felt fatigue in many different layers but never like this.  I believe working full time is way easier than being a stay at home mom or dad. That job is the hardest on earth and you are amazing people for doing it.  I myself kissed him good-bye and gave him the biggest hug as he left and I will miss him terribly but then I had to come to work to rest. 

            This type of fatigue is draining and yet satisfying. I don’t usual get to say I think my fatigue is satisfying but then again I have not felt this before.  Today I turned 39 which did not go unnoticed by my husband although I would rather it just comes and go and we pay no attention to the fact that I’m only months away from being 40 at this point.  Life is flying by and I’m on the fast train of age like everyone else.  I don’t have the same energy I had at 20 but who would!!!

3 thoughts on “A NEW KIND OF FATIGUE

  1. mollymm1223@yahoo.com October 27, 2011 at 12:48 am Reply

    Happy Birthday Nicole and thanks for todays blog. I will be 39 in December and am a stay at home mom with a 5 and a 3 year old.

    • mevsmctd October 27, 2011 at 3:13 pm Reply

      Molly What you chose for life is no easy task but very rewarding in its own right. Being able to watch your children grow and being able to be there every step of the way is amazing and extremely rewarding. I send you big hugs.

  2. mollymm1223@yahoo.com October 29, 2011 at 3:06 am Reply

    Thanks Nicole. I have to laugh only because I did not initially choose to be a SAHM. I had a great job, working for a great company, making great money, working for a couple of amazing men and became a victim of the economy back in November of 2008. I worked for a company that went from 170 employees down to approx. 10. But things happen for a reason and I have been blessed with an amazing husband who was and has been my rock through all of my transitions. We decided that it was in the best interest of our family that I not pursue employment at least until our youngest starts kindergarten. My children are smart and beautiful and yes, I am so blessed to be able to witness every minute of them growing up. I didn’t think it was possible to be busier as a SAHM vs. a Career Mom but I have to tell you….I had more “me” time when I worked :o). My son is the 3 year old and he is quite the little hand full….just wait until your nephew is this age. All I can say is that I’m looking forward to the stories :o).

    I hope you feel better soon!!!!!! And I am sending hugs back!

Leave a Reply

