GLUTEN IS NOT THE ANSWER

            Today I had a physical therapy appointment and this facility is so amazing at what they do. I feel so much better when I’m in there and when I leave.  They also believe that gluten is the enemy to many people.  They could very well be right, and I’m sure they see true success with clients that stop eating gluten when it causes them a problem.  For some people, like myself, I don’t believe gluten is my issue.  I have lived as a strict gluten free diet person, I waffled between some gluten and some non-gluten and recently since June I just eat gluten.  I honestly cannot say I feel any different with or without gluten. I do believe there are things that I do that can help manage my flares and MCTD but eating or not eating gluten is not one of them.

            This topic comes up quite a bit at physical therapy and since I just had a flare-up this week it is a hot topic.  I believe that my flare was strictly related to stress, fatigue, and traveling but it is hard to convince some people.  I do believe that I have a good handle on my MCTD and my life in general and when things are weird in my body I can pinpoint them quickly.  I guess I’m trying to say I’m in tune with my body and feel certain that I understand what it needs and doesn’t need.  I couldn’t say this with such conviction a few years ago since I was still trying to figure out what I had and what my triggers were.  I also spent many years trying all kinds of different things which I still do to some degree. I have learned to try 1 thing at a time though so I can tell what works and what doesn’t.  Sometimes I feel no effects but if I believe it is doing good on the inside even without me feeling daily effects I’ll usually stick with it. 

            Life is all about trials and errors, my only hope is that as I get older and live with this longer my trials out weight my errors.

2 thoughts on “GLUTEN IS NOT THE ANSWER

  1. Jessica October 5, 2011 at 4:05 pm Reply

    Have you tried natural products such as supplements,enzymes or herbs?

    • mevsmctd October 5, 2011 at 7:11 pm Reply

      Hello Jessica For supplements I use Fish oil in the winter time to help my Raynaud’s and I since June I have been using Triphala which I learned about during an Ayurveda class while at my yoga treat which helps with circulation. I also use turmeric whenever possible in my foods to help with inflammation. Currently I don’t use any enzymes. Are you currently using any and what is working for you?

Leave a Reply

