JUICE FEASTING

            You may see my heading and think this is a typo and that I meant juice fasting but indeed it is a juice feasting.  I watched a documentary called “Sick, Fat and Nearly Dead” the premise of it is that a gentleman from Australia lives with an autoimmune disease. It was not one I had heard of but did some research and found it. The gentleman has Urticaria is a kind of skin rash notable for pale red, raised, itchy bumps. Hives is frequently caused by allergic reactions; however, there are many non-allergic causes. Most cases of hives lasting less than six weeks (acute urticaria) are the result of an allergic trigger. Chronic urticaria (hives lasting longer than six weeks) is rarely due to an allergy. The majority of patients with chronic hives have an unknown (idiopathic) cause. Perhaps as many as 30–40% of patients with chronic idiopathic urticaria will, in fact, have an autoimmune cause. Acute viral infection is another common cause of acute urticaria (viral exanthem). Less common causes of hives include friction, pressure, temperature extremes, exercise, and sunlight.

            The thing that struck me the most was he had taken prednisone for 8 years. If he said how much he was taking I didn’t catch it but I have taken this same medication for 8 years as well at a dosage of 5mg for the last several years. This is one medication that I would really like to get off of and I was impressed when he did in fact take his last dosage to date of this medication.  He did have weight to lose and for all I know the weight was a big contributor to his disease.  I already live within a healthy weight for my height and age but is there something to just eating fruits and vegetables?  I already believe there is so much good that comes from eating whole foods and just living a healthy lifestyle in general. 

            The idea behind juicing is that you still need a certain amount of calories to live and to try and eat all those calories in fruit and vegetables would be a lot but when you juice them down to 8oz or 16oz or even 64oz it seems a lot more realistic.  I was so inspired by this documentary and the idea of actually getting off prednisone. I’m not saying I will get off prednisone and certainly wouldn’t do anything without talking to my doctor first but I did play around this weekend with some juicing and actually there are some really good recipes out there.

            I made a mean green juice this weekend with kale, celery, cucumber, apple, lemon and ginger as well as a Ginger Hopper juice made with carrots, apples and ginger.  So far both have been very good.  I would highly recommend checking out the documentary.  I liked the fact that because you are drinking so much juice it is really considered a feast instead of fast.  Fasting makes it sound like you are sacrificing and in this case you are drinking a lot of juice as well as eating fruits and vegetables, making smoothies, salads and soups.  There is not a lot of sacrifice but a lot of discipline especially since juicing is not easy and the cleanup is a bit frustrating. I’m sure with time I’ll get better with and still trying to figure out if a real juice feasting is right for me. 

            Quick note on my day 6 Sept Challenge, I did 120 minutes yesterday. So far my challenge is going as expected.

Leave a Reply

