FLIRTING WITH FLARE

            I have gone 277 Days without a flare-up and yet the last 3 mornings I have woken with a sore throat.  It hasn’t turned into anything else but I have also been really taking it easy and making sure I don’t overdo anything. I’m taking in lots of fluids to ensure I don’t get dehydrated and have been eating only good wholesome foods to ensure that my body doesn’t have to work too hard to process anything.  I’m basically treating my body as though it is a delicate flower which my husband would say it is the majority of the time I just forget that it is and treat it more like a cactus.  Delicate flowers need to be taken care of very gently and that is what I’m doing now.  If I can keep it to the sore throat and let this pass I’m in the clear which will allow me to get to 278 days.

            My life has changed these last several months and I’m just not willing to go back and deal with flare-ups and bed rest.  I like being upright every day and doing what I want mostly and feeling like I’m just a normal person who is managing my illness really very well.  I have certain symptoms that come on and the sore throat is certainly one of them but in all honesty I get them pretty regularly so I don’t usually worry about this symptom. This time though I have had it 3 days in a row, not something that is typical for me so I need to watch it closely.  My appetite increases when I’m on the verge of a flare and that happened to me a day ago.  I ate everything I came in contact with but nothing came of that and today my appetite is back to normal.  I get a weird pain in my elbow that tells me that a flare is really destined to come but I have not had anything like that in over 270 days so as long as that stays out of picture I believe I can keep myself flare-up free. 

            I’m battling fatigue but I do that without any symptoms of flare so this is a not an indicator for me but it is a gentle reminder to take it easy.  It is very ironic that I would deal with fatigue coming off of a week of total rest, relaxation, and un-plugging but I guess getting back to real life is more exhausting then I thought.  The more sleep I can provide myself over the next several days will take care of that and I should be good. 

            My struggles with Bikram may also stem from fatigue and my flirting with flare-up but I need the Bikram to get the fluid off and make sure my body stays limber.  It doesn’t help that Bikram is a natural dehydration so I really have to make sure to hydrate a lot if and when I get back in there and do my practice.

            Please Mr. Flare stay on your hiatus and leave me to my new life and new journey of working towards an entire year of being flare-up.

5 thoughts on “FLIRTING WITH FLARE

  1. Jessica September 14, 2011 at 1:12 pm Reply

    Hi Nicole,
    I’m Jessica and I was dx with MCTD 2 weeks ago. At this point my symptoms are joint pain all over my body and the worse fingers/wrists pain and swelling. I’m happy that you have been flare up free for the last 200’s days. I would like to know if you are taking Plaquenil or other medication to have the MCTD under control??,thanks for sharing your experience with us.

    • mevsmctd September 14, 2011 at 1:51 pm Reply

      Jessica
      Let me first say that I’m sure you have many questions concerning MCTD and over time with the research you do and the knowledge you gain it will help you answer a lot of them. For some people their futures seem uncertain but there are so many things you can do even early in your diagnosis to help ease your pain. To answer your question I have been on plaquenil for the last 8 years along with prednisone and mobic. These are my daily managing medications. The prednisone has varied in dosages for me over the last years and today I’m at 4.5mg. The mobic is helping my joint pain. Typically they say that the medications are only good for about 5 years and then it is time to find new ones. I have been fortunate enough to be on the same ones for 8 years. My doctors also warned me about potential eye issues with plaquenil and again I have not run into any problems. Good luck with everything and keep asking your questions and doing your research, knowledge is powerful and lessens the uncertainty.

      • Jessica September 15, 2011 at 12:17 am

        thanks for your respond
        I will keep looking for information, I’m praying for this symptoms to go away or at least ease. I would like to have kids and I don’t want to take Paquenil, it’s so hard to accept this condition, but harder is to deal with the symptoms.
        thanks again.

      • mevsmctd September 15, 2011 at 3:24 pm

        I wish you luck in our journey and don’t be discouraged many women have successful pregnancies and are able to stay on their medications. Find doctors you trust and that have the same common goals as yourself. Everyone is different with symptoms therefore perhaps your doctor could suggest some alternative remedies besides just medications to help your pain. Every day will be different some good some bad some you won’t know if it is good or bad but this is long term so all you can learn about it the better you will be able to manage it.

  2. Jessica September 15, 2011 at 10:33 pm Reply

    thank you for the encouragement, you are helping and impacting a lot of people with your blog. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

