TRYING FISH OIL AGAIN

 A few years back my doctor prescribed me Omicor which is fish oil that has all the fish contents but none of the toxins. I was taking 1000 mg a day but my insurance declared that I didn’t have a cholesterol problem and back then fish oil helping Raynaud’s was a theory. The insurance company decided that they were not going to cover that prescription and as a prescribed supplement it was too expensive for me to pay for on my own.

I also didn’t have the severe Raynaud’s that I have developed over time so I didn’t mind not taking the fish oil. I was successful with procardia and later on Niacin. The problem now is that 60mg of procardia, 2000mg of Niacin and Bikram yoga at 105 degrees is not working for my Raynaud’s. My fingers are very sore and I’m starting to develop the ulcers that my doctor has warned me about. Once you get the ulcers your tissue can be damaged and very painful. I don’t want to be someone that has to have her finger tips amputated due to damaged tissue. I rather enjoy keeping all my fingers and toes.

I have returned to trying fish oil again. I bought an over the counter fish oil that has the toxin removed but Omega’s added. There is controversy around having a toxin free fish oil vs. the whole fish toxins and all left in the capsule. I really want the benefits of the fish oil but not the toxin. I have been taking 2 1200mg each in the morning and 2 more at night. I can’t honestly say that I’m feeling the benefits of taking all this medication for my Raynaud’s. I’m also afraid that even though I’m filling up on procardia, niacin, and fish oil the fact that I’m still dealing with Raynaud’s every day and all day long that there is something else going on. Perhaps I have already damaged the tissue around certain fingers and therefore no blood can get to them. I’m not due to see the doctor again until July and not sure if I should let it ride or call him.

My real hope is that once the warm weather gets here and is here daily that I can get some relief. However, we all know that as soon as the hot weather comes the air conditioning goes on. I’m not one that enjoys A/C and quite frankly if I never had to deal with A/C I would be fine. I have found that just walking into a store or worse sitting at work causes me to flare purple even if the temperature outside is a comfortable 80 degrees. At least in my house and my car I do not deal with A/C and get to enjoy nothing but fresh air.

However, if the warm weather doesn’t help and I don’t know that I can wait until July to address this situation. I might be fingerless by then if I’m not careful. I had a woman approach me and say I have what you have, but I don’t know what it is and I haven’t talk to anyone about it. I asked her if she has ever mentioned it to her doctor and she replied no. I know for myself that I walk into my doctor’s office and just like any public area it is always cold enough to send me into Raynaud’s flare so he always sees it. I asked her if she had a mild case and only got it in the winter time. She did confirm that it was a winter situation only and that made more sense to me.

What I find interesting is that you know your body does something that not a lot of people’s bodies do and it is different than the norm but you are too afraid to bring it up for fear of what you might learn. I’m always afraid I’m going to hear some bad news when things don’t feel right but my philosophy is at least if I know about it I can do something about it. This is the reason I don’t want to wait until July to tackle my own Raynaud’s issue but I also don’t want to go running into his office every time something little changes. My body goes through lots of little changes and it is the big changes I really worry about.

2 thoughts on “TRYING FISH OIL AGAIN

  1. Rachel waltham January 8, 2013 at 9:45 pm Reply

    I’m not sure if you have it over in the states but ginkgo Biloba leaf which you can buy in liquid form And have in water has proven excellent for my severe raynauds before, very interesting blog I’ve just been diagnosed with mctd although been suffering last 4 years, will keep reading 🙂 rachel x

    • mevsmctd January 8, 2013 at 11:06 pm Reply

      Rachel
      Thank you for taking time to read my blog. I have not tried Ginkgo but my regiment of daily low dose no flush Niacin is really making this winter manageable in the case of purple fingers and toes. I also believe my gluten free diet is helping in that regard as well and now just waiting for the snow to melt and spring to join us!!!!

      Nicole

Leave a Reply

