GOOD GENES

  Today my Grand-mother turns 96 years old. She was born in 1914 and has seen the world literally change before her eyes. Her sisters are all gone, her husband is gone, her friends are gone, but her family is here and loves her very much. She has 2 great grandchildren now and loves them just as much as she loves her 3 grandchildren. She practically raised me as a child and I have very fond memories of spending time with her and will cherish those memories forever.

She is very with it, mind and body. She does have her driver’s license but the family has asked she not drive so she gave up her car about a year ago. She walks 2-3 times a day to keep her legs strong and when she is tired she uses a cane but prefers to be independent and won’t use especially when she is out in public. There are many nights she is up until 2am reading her favorite books and she just explains she has nothing to get up early for anymore so if she stays up late she just sleeps in. She is a clean freak and still cleans daily, but whatever she needs to keep going.

I think about this a lot and wonder if I am lucky enough to have those genes. I want to see what the world will look like in 2068 when I turn 96 but only want to get there if I have my mind and body. If I’m able to walk and see the world that would be amazing. If my mind works and I’m able to recall people, places and things that would make being that age worth it. My fear is that my body may give out before it is ready due the MCTD and although I carry these strong genes it may not be something I can use.

My grand-mother is an amazing woman with the best stories and has seen 17 different Presidents take office. I’m sure if you ask she will have a story about each one of them good or bad. She is a quiet woman, a reserved woman but she is always taking notice of what is happening around her. She loves football and can be found most Sat and Sunday’s sitting in her comfy chair screaming for someone she likes but her favorites will forever be Nebraska Cornhuskers and Kansas City Chiefs. Don’t even ask me how many players, coaches and general managers she has seen come and go but if you ask her I’m sure she knows. Strong mind, strong body, strong will, strong spirit makes for a long prosperous life.

Leave a Reply

