WHAT DO HORMONES HAVE TO DO WITH IT?

  Is there a connection between hormones and flare-ups with MCTD? I started to ask myself this question a couple of years ago and did some research. There is a belief that as I enter menopause my symptoms might subside and or flare-ups will decrease. When this question first came to me I was further off from menopause so I didn’t want to wait. I was tracking daily how I was feeling, what was happening with my body and for an entire year I could pin point having 2 flare-ups both at times when my hormones would increase.

Back in March 2010 I spoke to my doctors about this and they agreed that there could be a connection. They did not believe my flare-ups would go away or that I would go into remission with menopause but they both felt that there was a correlation. My Gynecologist recommended that I have a steady stream of hormones at all times so I don’t make a jump at day 10 and day 28 or anywhere around those days. I started the regiment in April of 2010 and I honestly think it is working. I am still having flare-ups and in fact I can pinpoint my last flare-up to a fluke hormonal increase that I was not ready for and didn’t prepare for which put me in severe flare-up. This realization did not come to me right away but after looking back in my daily journal I put the equation together.

As women, our hormones can fluctuate all the time but keeping them in balance could help. I was an early fan of The Biggest Loser, but not anymore. However, I’m still a Jillian Michaels fan and read her book, “Mastering your Metabolism” she agrees that getting our hormones under control is really key to metabolism and other balances in the body so why not a connection to MCTD. Obviously Jillian doesn’t write about MCTD in her book nor would I expect her too but I do think that understanding hormones, environmental issues, foods, plastics, and other things can help our bodies find a balance. I’m still looking for that remission and since I believe I’ll get some relief with menopause I’m actually looking forward to those days. (Well kind of)

2 thoughts on “WHAT DO HORMONES HAVE TO DO WITH IT?

  1. Lauren Essl December 12, 2010 at 5:23 pm Reply

    I am thoroughly amazed at the similarities! I am virtually incapacitated when my hormones are in flux. In fact that is the worst time. I wonder if the same is true for men with MCTD.

    • mevsmctd December 12, 2010 at 5:36 pm Reply

      Good question about men with MCTD. I have to believe that their hormones fluctuate as well but they probably have their own list of triggers and times of flare-up. Interesting thought

Leave a Reply

