CHANGES WITH WEIGHT WATCHERS

  Don’t know if you have heard or not but Weight Watchers has changed their program for the first time in 13 years. My back ground with Weight Watchers is that I was overweight and not healthy before I even found out I had MCTD. When I was diagnosed I had to make major changes. One of which was to get the extra weight off so I could take pressure off my joints. This is not an easy task especially when you are newly introduced to prednisone. I was seeing my PT who removed sugar but I needed extra help. I joined Weight Watchers because it was a program that worked and I needed something to work. There was no flash to it other than don’t eat more than your points. This worked for a few years and the weight came off. I had started in Aug of 2003 and by May 2006 I was down 55 lbs and feeling really good.

At this point I was exercising and burning way more calories so eating a mere 1200 calories a day was not in my regiment, therefore, I quit Weight Watchers but have been successful on my own every since. My body today needs about 2200 calories and needs lots of fruits, vegetables, protein, good carbs, and good fats.

I have an office full of women who many have tried WW and given up or felt hungry and have come to me to say why can’t I make this work. What I learned by talking to these women that I consider my friends is that they were giving up bananas with 2 points and having high fiber English muffins with butter spray for 1 point. Even when I would explain to them that the banana was doing so much more good for their body and it is high in fiber and it will actually burn way slower than an English muffin it is was falling on deaf ears.

I had been doing some research and came across the grand change for WW starting November 29th. I had the day off and curiosity got the better of me so I joined to see what this was all about. Finally, the program has changed and encourages people to eat fruits, vegetables, and proteins. It no longer attaches 1 point for bread items and takes into consideration carbs. It still doesn’t register the difference between good and bad fats but they do have many articles encouraging people to eat peanut butter, avocados, nuts, dark chocolate, and use EVOO.

I came back to work on Wed and the water cooler talk was about WW and the increase in daily points, weekly points, bread items, no points for all fruits including bananas. Some couldn’t figure out how this program was going to work so many women had lots of questions and we just took them one at a time. I tried to explain why they increased the number of points on bread because your body metabolism it differently and they are trying to get people to eat more filling foods. All vegetables are zero points unless of course you are referring to potatoes, corn, peas and other starchy vegetables. They can’t be zero points because no one should be able to eat an infinite amount of these foods and not gain weight.

It was a very interesting week full of questions and skepticism but I think if my co-workers stick with it and realize they need to eat to lose and reach for the fruits and vegetables they will believe the system still works it is just better. Check out weightwatchers.com for more information. If you want to learn to eat right and lose weight this is a great way to get started. Once you know how to eat and what your body needs you will figure out your caloric need and pick foods that get you there. Everyone has to start somewhere and especially those of us that are always on a prednisone need help from time to time. I’m still on prednisone and will probably never get off but it doesn’t affect my weight. It 100% affects my appetite, my husband and I joke that I am truly hungry all the time and I think about food 24 hours a day even while I’m sleeping I will dream about food. This is a just a side effect that has never gone away for me but I don’t beat myself up and just make sure my metabolism stays strong and roars like a bon fire daily.

2 thoughts on “CHANGES WITH WEIGHT WATCHERS

  1. Lauren Essl December 6, 2010 at 4:01 pm Reply

    Weight Watchers is great for many. Years ago I joined to lose the baby weight. He was three and not a baby anymore, so I needed to own up and release the excess. It ws not until I found French Women Don’t Get Fat by Mireille Guilliano, Chic and Slim by Anne Barone, and The Fat Fallacy by Dr. Will Clower that my life changed for the better. See, I too know that my joints are better when I am at a certain weight, I used to think about food all the time, because I was SO hungry, and yet I was always afraid to really relax and eat. Weight Watchers helped me to see the value in eating balanced meals and FWDGF and the Fat Fallacy helped me see the value in eating full fat, for pleasure, and truly leave yo yo dieting for good. Food is something to be enjoyed thoroughly, with all the senses. Excess weight can be released and indulgences can be compensated for on a week by week basis. Three meals a day if well balanced are all a person needs. There really is no daily need for snacking, unless of course dinner will be late! These books also opened my eyes to the value in eating foods with no more than five ingredients and not eating chemicals. Sadly the last time I visited WW they were seling boxes of foods with well over 5 ingredients, most of which I could not pronounce. Our bodies are not science experiments, they need real food, so they can function properly and help us live a higher quality life. The way our bodies process those chemicals if through holding fat. See if we do not feed ourselves what we truly need, we will hold onto fat for survival. Try it, real cream in a coffee, not creamer. Full fat yogurt every morning! Butter on real bread at dinner. Oh and my family’s favorite: roasted chicken with the skin on! Because Americans are so numbers based: I was always a size 12-16 while dieting…for the past two years, while eating REAL food, I fluctuate between a size 4 and a size 6 effortlessly. I eat anything that brings me pleasure. I also engage in pleasurable activity (exercise) just when I feel like it. I have not been to a gym since I injured my back 6 years ago. Try a new thought, a new way of thinking….get off the treadmill, get out of the weigh in line and embrace a new way of life. Throw out the schleppy clothes and wear something chic it just might help you stay slim! There is life of balance and simplicity out there ready to be lived. It’s affordable too. Bon Appetite Ladies!

    • mevsmctd December 6, 2010 at 4:10 pm Reply

      I love this comment, you are so right about so many things you posted. There is a positive energy that comes from just being, just eating, just living and doing the right things. To be able to say you maintain your weight and haven’t stepped into a gym in 6 years is amazing. It also tells me you do other fun things outside the gym when you can and when you want. Keep up the great work and thanks for reminding me that full fat yogurt is A-Okay!!!

Leave a Reply

