GETTING READY FOR THANKSGIVING

  We are only a couple of weeks away from the start of the Holiday season and more appropriately the eating season. Thanksgiving starts us off with the eating frenzy and it really doesn’t stop until Jan 15th. I have noticed there are lot more people at the gym these days probably trying to lose those 10 pounds before Thanksgiving so when they gain them back after the holidays it is such a burden. I find myself wanting to work out even more this time of year so I can indulge in the yummy goodies that float around offices, family homes, and fire side chats.

I have started to prepare my Thanksgiving menu, this is the first year I’m making gluten-free food for my family. The good thing is I don’t have to make all the food just bring sides. Of course some side dishes are naturally gluten-free but I want to make sure there is stuff there I can eat and enjoy so I’m going to practice, practice, practice and hopefully my husband doesn’t mind eating Thanksgiving side dishes for a couple of weeks. I got the bread down but I need to attempt pie. Oh the crust makes or breaks a pie so it has to be real good. The stuffing is another one that everyone loves stuffing and traditional stuffing so I know there will be my mother’s famous traditional stuffing that I will not have this year but I hope everyone will at least try my cornbread stuffing. I’m sure I will be eating stuffing long after Thanksgiving and black Friday shopping have come and gone.

Good thing I love to eat and eat I will. As I’m practicing if any recipes turn out really well I’ll post them for others to try. I did want to post this one that I found in Prevention magazine that looks really good and won’t take practice. If you like Root vegetables this is a good one to serve up.

 Mario Batali’s Root Vegetable Mash

Serves 8

 2 large carrots cut into rounds

2 russet potatoes peeled and cubed

2 med turnips cubed

2 med onions diced

2 med parsnips cut into rounds

2 med sweet potatoes peeled and cubed

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup EVOO

Grated zest of 2 oranges

Salt & pepper

1 bunch chopped chives 

  1. Bring the carrots, potato, turnip, onion, parsnip, sweet potato and water to cover to a boil in a 4-quart saucepan. Lower to a simmer and cook until vegetables are soft.
  2. Drain the vegetables and pass through a food mill into a large bowl or mash thoroughly by hand. Stir in cinnamon, oil, and orange zest and season with salt and pepper. Stir in chives and serve.
Leave a Reply

