LOVE IN A COOKIE

  My husband and I love hermit cookies with the rich molasses flavor and hint of cloves with the gooey raisins inside. The only problem is we haven’t found a gluten free version. Since my husband is not gluten intolerant he enjoys these little morsels quite often and feels bad eating them in front of me. I really don’t mind. Honestly, I don’t mind. There are many things he can eat that I cannot and hermits are the least of the things that I’m jealous about. However, when your husband makes you a home-made gluten free hermit there is something very special about that. The love that is in that cookie is truly worth eating and loving every bite of.

Yesterday morning I came home from Bikram and as I’m finishing getting ready and the Patriot’s game is about to start I come down stairs and find my husband in the kitchen stirring something in a mixing bowl. I have to ask what he is doing while the game is blaring in the other room and he responds that he is making me gluten free cookies. Yes this is all true, he is so wonderful and so loving and extremely considerate of me and my needs. Not that I need hermits but I need the support he shows me so often and with that love and support I feel like I can achieve anything. Those cookies were so delicious. Easy to make and full of flavor. The love that went into them was unbelievable. I have attached the recipe for you in case you want to try these. These would be wonderful to take to a holiday party or put out to nibble on after dinner with a cup of tea. Try them with a cup of coffee for breakfast. After a real breakfast of course. If you are not gluten intolerant you can use your regular flour. The recipe calls for 1 cup raisins but we are going to make them again and add more. The flavor of raisins is always good in a cookie. I hope you enjoy these as much as I did. We found the recipe at All Recipes and just doctored it to our needs.

 Hermit Cookies

    Original Recipe Yield 3 1/2 dozen = 42 cookies 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/4 cup Agave
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup warm coffee = Optional
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups gluten free all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 cup raisins = try 1.5 or 2 cups

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 360 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease cookie sheets.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the shortening and sugar until smooth. Stir in the molasses and egg. Dissolve the baking soda in warm coffee; stir into the molasses mixture. Combine the flour, salt, cinnamon and cloves; Gradually stir into the batter. Mix in raisins. Drop a spoonful of batter on cookie sheet.
  3. Bake for 12 minutes

Nutritional Information

Amount Per Serving  Calories: 96 | Total Fat: 2.7g | Cholesterol: 5mg Powered by ESHA Nutrient Database

Leave a Reply

