BEING FLEXIBLE WITH JOINT ISSUES

  Take it from someone who starts their day at 4:30am with exercise that everyone needs a day off from time to time. I took yesterday off from work and had the whole day planned out but as my husband’s wise aunt says “we make plans and God laughs.” My day changed drastically because anyone that lives with MCTD knows that weird things happen to our bodies out of the blue. I did not have a flare-up but I spent the entire night up sick and made getting up at 4:30am difficult. I decided to change my day based on my body and stayed in bed until I was ready to go to a late morning Bikram class. I still go to Bikram even when I’m not feeling well because it is easy enough on my body that I can get through most pains and stiffness and feel really refreshed after a class. Again I was not disappointed and felt great. It allowed me to have some fun and enjoy myself today. These types of days I call my days off. I still do some sort of physical activity but just not a 2-3 hour session and not to my full intensity. I can still give my body what it needs without doing harm.

 Knowing and understanding what your body needs is critical when dealing with MCTD because every day it is different and if you aren’t listening closely you could miss it. Take time to find what works for you and if rest is what you crave then rest and if you feel great give it all you got.

2 thoughts on “BEING FLEXIBLE WITH JOINT ISSUES

  1. Michele January 1, 2014 at 3:52 am Reply

    I have been getting so much from reading your blog. But i can’t help but wonder how you are able to exercise 2-3 hours a day.

    • mevsmctd January 1, 2014 at 11:30 am Reply

      Hi Michele
      Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. To answer your question on how do I find so much time to exercise… Let me first explain I don’t have children and I have made career out of managing my health with an extremely supportive husband. I feel better when I keep moving and stiffen when I sit so exercise in all forms has become my daily routine.

      My day starts at 4am with a good weight training program and some cardio. I like to do bkiram in the mornings when I can and if all else fails I just walk. My job is demanding and stressful but I get an hour every day for lunch and use the gym that is a mile away. That is where i do “insanity” work with my trainer or just walk. Many nights I have nothing left to give but on a night or two I will head into the bkiram studio and then head home. It sounds like a lot but it what has and continues to work for me.

      Best wishes,
      Nicole

Leave a Reply

