WALKING FOR CANCER

  Sunday morning in Maine it is about 50 degrees but the sun is shining bright and it is a perfect day to dress in pink and head out for a Strides Breast Cancer Walk. I’m very involved with breast cancer walks and raising money to find a cure. I hope to be able to say we found a cure in my lifetime and more importantly for my nieces so they don’t have to worry about this at my age. My husband and I headed to Portland with 3000 other walkers, laced up our sneakers, and walked as group around our Old Port Harbor area. It was quite inspiring to see walkers of all ages out there for the same cause and to see the next generation getting involved and bringing large groups to the walk and raising lots of money.

 I have many women in my life that I care about deeply; a few have been struck with this disease and survived while others, including my grandmother did not. Even the small things I can do help achieve great things. There will come a time when the women we love can rest easy but until then I’m fighting

Leave a Reply

